Skip to main content
NJ Statutes, Bills, & Legislative History
- New Jersey Legislature This site includes the New Jersey Permanent Statutes Database, the Chapter Laws from 1996 forward, Legislative Bills from 1996 forward, Public Hearings from 1996 forward, and, beginning in 2001, audio and video recordings of some floor and committee proceedings. For enactment information on this site more recent than that in the "Chapter Laws" section, check the recent issues of the "Legislative Digest," looking at the end of each issue under "Bills Signed Into Law Since Last Session." Caution: the Permanent Statutes Database currently includes some expired sections; see the disclaimer on the site.
- New Jersey Statutes via New Jersey State Legislature's web site.
- Includes the complete text of the statutes. Searchable by keyword, by citation or by table of contents.
- New Jersey Chapter Laws via New Jersey State Legislature's web site.
- Includes Chapter Laws from 1996-2008
- New Jersey Legislative Counsel Opinions (at Rutgers-Newark Law Library)
- New Jersey Law Revision Commission Includes Commission reports.
- New Jersey Legislative Histories (at the State Library): Legislative history references for Laws of 1998 forward, with links to bill texts, committee statements, and public hearing texts.
- Report of the Attorney General's Task Force on Sovereign Immunity (1972) (at the State Library). This is part of the legislative history of Title 59 of the N.J. Statutes.
- New Jersey Session Laws Online (at Rutgers-Camden Law Library). Still in development, this is a browsable but not searchable collection of legislative acts, digitized from microform. As of mid-July 2007, the coverage was 1703-1752 and 1776-1999. In order to retrieve a particular law efficiently, you need to know the year and page number (retrieval by chapter number is not possible). Page images can be printed or downloaded: position cursor near top left of image to make ikons for printing or downloading appear.
- New Jersey Statute Compilations (at Rutgers-Newark Law Library): The Revised Statutes of 1877 and the General Statutes of 1895 (including Luce's Tables).