LibGuides: New York Civil Practice: Selected Resources: Forms

Introduction

Form books are not only useful because they provide a template for court filings, but they also often summarize the area of law to which they pertain. Attorneys unfamiliar with an area of law should use the resources to review the background information provided.

To identify form books in a law library catalog, conduct a subject search for: New York State Forms Law. You may substitute a different jurisdiction in place of New York State.

Forms can also be found on Lexis+ and Westlaw. To locate forms on the Lexis+ Legal Research page, use the drop down menu attached to the main search bar to select "All Content" and then select "Sample Forms." On Westlaw, forms are listed on the main directory under the heading, “Forms." You can also consult specific jurisdictions in both databases to identify the forms particular to that jurisdiction.

Civil Practice Forms

American Jurisprudence Pleading and Practice Forms Annotated
Call Number: KF8836.A947
This source is also available on Westlaw. Its database identifier is AMJUR-PP. To search this source, click on the link below.
American Jurisprudence Pleading and Practice Forms Annotated
Bender's Forms for the Civil Practice: With Explanatory Notes and Cross References
Call Number: KFN5995.A65 B4
This set of forms expands on Benders Forms of Pleading. It typically addresses situations that arise deeper into the trial process, such as motion practice. Lexis+ also publishes these forms online. To search them, click on the link below.
Bender's Forms for the Civil Practice
Bender's Forms for the Consolidated Laws of New York Annotated
These forms are also available online through Lexis+. To search these forms, click on the link below.
Bender's Forms for the Consolidated Laws of New York
Bender's Forms of Discovery: An Exhaustive Compilation of Interrogatories Designed to Enable Lawyers to Elicit From adverse Parties Such Information As May Be Essential To Adequate Preparation for Trial
Call Number: KF8900.A3 B45
To access these forms on Lexis+, click on the links below.
Bender's Forms of Discovery: Interrogatories, Vols. 1-10A
Bender's Forms of Discovery: Treatise, Vols. 11-17
Bender's Forms of Pleading of the State of New York
Call Number: KFN6010.A65 B435
The chapter approach of this publication addresses the many types of torts that arise in civil litigation. It sets out the elements of the action, responses, and affirmative defenses. It should be consulted early in the process. To access these forms on Lexis+, click on the link below.
Bender's Forms of Pleading
Carmody-Wait 2d with Forms
Call Number: KFN5995.C30 1965
This practice aid and form book covers both civil practice and criminal procedure in New York with a full-text discussion of the governing case law and the controlling provisions of the Civil Practice Law and Rules, the Criminal Procedure Law, the Judiciary Law, the Surrogate's Court Procedure Act, and the Real Property Actions and Proceedings Law. This title is also available on Westlaw. Its database identifier is CW2D. To search it click on the link below.
Carmody-Wait 2d with Forms
Drafting New York Wills by Harold D. Klipstein
Call Number: KFN5201 .K55
ISBN: 0820513385
Publication Date: 2010
Kept up to date with supplements.
Medina's Bostwick's Practice Manual
The most current edition of this manual is available on Lexis+. To access it, click on the link below.
Forms for Medina's Bostwick's Practice Manual
New York Consolidated Laws Service
Call Number: KFN5990 .A2 1963
In CLS, forms are published directly following the applicable statute in the statutory code. They do not appear in a separate volume. To search, New York Consolidated Laws Service on Lexis+, click on the link below.
New York Consolidated Law Service.
New York Forms: Practice Oriented Forms for New York Legal and Business Transactions
Call Number: KFN5068.N43, 1970-
Westlaw publishes this source online. Its database identifier is NY-LF. To search it, click on the link below.
New York Forms: Legal and Business
West's McKinney's Forms
Call Number: KFN5068 .W436
The McKinney's set of form books is organized by practice area and not by code section. For example, all the materials related to matrimonial practice are grouped under that heading. This can be useful, especially for attorneys new to an area of law. McKinney's Forms are also available on Westlaw. To search McKinney's on West, click on the link below.
West's McKinney's Forms

Other New York Practice Forms

New York Forms Legal & Business
Call Number: Internet
New York Lawyer's Formbook
Call Number: KFN5068.N47 2nd ed. Rev.
This book provides forms and commentary for a wide array of legal issues from corporate and partnership law to real estate transactions and mortgage foreclosures.
Warren's Forms of Agreements: Business Forms
Call Number: KF886.W36
Lexis also publishes these forms electronically. To access them, click on the link below.
Warren's Forms of Agreements
American Jurisprudence Legal Forms
Call Number: Internet
This title is available on Westlaw.

Forms Found Online

New York State Court Forms
Eastern District of New York Forms
Southern District of New York Forms
New York Department of State: UCC Forms
New York Department of State: Corporate Forms
Corporate forms found on this website apply to a variety of business associations, including corporations, not for profit corporations, limited liability companies, partnerships, etc. To identify a particular form, hover over the Corporations/Business Entities link on the left hand side of the page.