Skip to main content

Paper Topic Selection: International & Comparative: Legal News

Sources to identify developments concerning international law and foreign law.

Legal News Reports & Information Centers

BNA Law Reports

Click: "quick link" on BLS Library's public web page to: Law School Professional Information Center.  Access a specific report.  This database is accessible on campus, in BLS housing, and elsewhere off campus if one has implemented the proxy instructions.

Bloomberg Law 

        TIP: Home screen box "Law School Success" links to: Law Review Resources (a group of topic selection resources).   

Click link: Circuit Splits Court Opinion Search

Change the default search query to: circuit n/15 split AND international  

In search results, see post-search filter: Topic.  Click: Select More.  Filter results by topic: International Law or International Trade Law.  

Click link: Supreme Court Today Tracker.  Search for cases by primary topic: international law or international trade.  

TIP: Home screen box "Law School Success" links to: BNA Law Reports. 

TIP: Search BNA Law Reports with query: circuit S/ split

Reports that highlight international law-related developments include:  

Antitrust & Trade Regulation Daily & Report

Homeland Security Briefing

International Environment Reporter

International Journal (covers tax developments affecting international corporate and individual transactions)

International Tax Monitor and various Tax Planning International reports

International Trade Daily and International Trade Reporter

United States Law Week

WTO Reporter

World Data Protection Report

World Intellectual Property Report

World Securities Law Report

TIP: Bloomberg Law also allows researchers to review a customizable company watchlist (path: Browse All Content > Business Intelligence > Company Watchlist/Lookup)

TIP: In Bloomberg Law, BROWSE > Browse All Content: News links to Latest News.  Enter keywords in the search box.  

TIP: In Bloomberg Law, BROWSE > Browse All Content: Practice Centers (including AntitrustBanking & FinanceBankruptcyCorporateHealthPrivacy & Data Security, SecuritiesTaxTech & Telecom and Trademarks & Copyrights)  describes new developments.  

Court Listener provides more than 3 million opinions issued by U.S. federal and state courts. 

TIP: Register at this site, search by keywords, and create an alert.

Jurist: World News tracks international and foreign law developments.  

Law360 legal news stories and expert analysis are accessible on-campus, in BLS housing, and elsewhere off-campus if one has implemented the proxy instructions.  Law360 news categories include Competition, Intellectual Property, International Arbitration, International Trade and Technology.  Headlines (but not full stories) are available for category: Financial Services UK.  Law360 also is available through LexisAdvance.    

Law.com International aggregates news stories from ALM publications such as American Lawyer, The Asian Lawyer, National Law Journal, New Jersey Law Journal, New York Law Journal and The Recorder.

BLS faculty, current students, and administrators: If you cannot view National Law Journal or New York Law Journal stories at Law.com, you could e-mail the BLS Reference Desk  to obtain the e-mail and password to retrieve these recent stories.  

Lexis Advance also provides many recent articles from, and searchable archives of, ALM publications such as National Law Journal and New York Law Journal.  Researchers can enter the name of a specific source, like New York Law Journal, and run a search, or can access Legal News (which includes ALM publications) and run an advanced search for keywords in the headline and lead paragraph of available news stories.

Mondaq (free, registration required) aggregates law firm newsletters. 

TIP: Use the filter Region/Country to select a geographic area (example: U.K.)

Use the filter Primary Topic (includes: International Law)

War Crimes Prosecution Watch compiles documents and highlights developments in prosecutions of war crimes throughout the world.