Skip to main content

Paper Topic Selection: International & Comparative: Congressional Dev's.

Sources to identify developments concerning international law and foreign law.

U.S. Congressional Developments

CQ Weekly contains articles about key U.S. Congressional bills.  TIP: Many bills, such as those dealing with energy, climate change or trade, could be the focus of an international law-oriented article.  Page might load slowly--please be patient.   

(Accessible on campus, in BLS housing, and elsewhere off campus if one has implemented the proxy instructions.)

National Journal Daily, National Journal Weekly & Hotline track key U.S. Congressional bills and policy developments in Washington.  These sources also monitor U.S. Presidential, Congressional & gubernatorial elections.    

(Accessible on campus, in BLS housing, and elsewhere off campus if one has implemented the proxy instructions.)

Congressional Research Service Reports analyze hot topics before the U.S. Congress.  

Penny Hill Press provides summaries of Congressional Research Reports that one can review by subject. University of North Texas Libraries offers an archive of Congressional Research Reports that one can browse by subject.  

BLS Library subscribes to a subject-arranged newsletter describing recently published Congressional Research Reports--issues of this newsletter are available in the Reference collection.  TIP: Requent current issues of this newsletter at the Reference Desk and skim entries under topics such as: Foreign Countries and Regions; Foreign Policy; and International Affairs

Bloomberg Law includes:

Path: Browse All Content > Latest News > Government

(BLS faculty, students and administrators can register to obtain Blomberg Law passwords.)

GovTrack tracks activities of the U.S. Congress.  Find a Bill provides a user-friendly search template for Congressional bills.

Congress.gov is the site at which the U.S. Library of Congress provides Congressional bills and status reports about bills.

FDsys is the site at which  U.S. Government Printing office provides Congressional bills, hearings, reports, the daily (M-F) Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations.