Skip to main content

Paper Topic Development: International: Texts of Cases and Arbitral Awards

Tools to identify articles, books, treaties, UN documents, jurisprudence and other sources to support an international law paper.

Oxford Reports on International Law (ORIL)

Subscription Oxford Reports on International Law (ORIL) allows researchers to search in all available modules or to search in a specific module.  Brooklyn Law School Library subscribes to the following modules:

  • International Courts of General Jurisdiction
  • International Criminal Law
  • International Human Rights Law
  • International Investment Claims
  • International Law in Domestic Courts

Tip: Browse jurisprudence by content type, subject or jurisdiction.

Each decision links to Oxford Law Citator.  Researchers might obtain cites to related cases through this Citator.  

(Access subscription ORIL on campus, in BLS housing, and elsewhere off campus if one has implemented the proxy server instructions.)

Westlaw & Lexis Advance

Both subscription Westlaw and Lexis Advance provide U.S. cases concerning international law, U.S. administrative agencies' decisions (some of which pertain to international law) and cases of selected foreign jurisdictions.  Regarding foreign cases available through basic U.S. law school license agreements with these vendors: primary focus = cases of selected common-law oriented jurisdictions.

Westlaw databases include:

> [U.S.] Federal International Law Cases 

> U.S. Court of International Trade Cases + International Trade Commission (ITC) Decisions         

> [U.S.] Military Law Administrative Decisions & Guidance 

Restatement of the Law - The Foreign Relations Law of the United States (Second, Third & Fourth Restatements)   

Restatement of the U.S. Law of International Commercial and Investor–State Arbitration (tip: includes case citations to drafts)

> American Law Reports International (Tool that "analyzes relevant U.S. and foreign cases from English- and non-English-speaking countries on specific legal issues of international import.")

Global Competition & Antitrust > tabs: Cases 

International Arbitration Materials > tabs: Cases & Awards

> International Court of Justice Decisions 

> International Legal Materials (this compilation of international law documents includes many decisions, selected coverage from 1980-)

Iran-United States Claims Tribunal Decisions

> NAFTA Awards & Binational Panel Decisions

International Materials > select a foreign jurisdiction (includes: European Union), view available material

Lexis Advance databases include:

All [U.S.] International Law Cases 

> All [U.S.] International Trade Law Cases & [U.S.] International Trade Commission Decisions

> All [U.S.] Military & Veterans Law Cases

> International Court of Justice Judgments & International Court of Justice Advisory Opinions

> NAFTA Panel Review Decisions

> Click Lexis Advance Research > Under "Explore Content" click tab: International > select a foreign jurisdiction, view available material 

 

Other Sources of International Law Jurisprudence

Print: International Law Reports in BLS Library's International Collection 

Subscription: International Legal Materials (compilation of international law documents), as available online through HeinOnline and through Cambridge University Press

(Access on campus, in BLS housing, and elsewhere off campus if one has implemented the proxy server instructions.)

World Legal Information Institute: Category: Courts and Case Law

This free "legal research facility" includes the ability to search for cases by topic International Courts & Tribunals.  

Other Sources of Foreign Jurisprudence

The World Law Guide: Courts and Cases

This free guide links to decisions of high courts in many countries. Foreign courts might not provide decisions in English.

World Legal Information Institute: Category: Courts and Case Law

This free "legal research facility" links to sources of cases arranged by country.

Subscription: Westlaw China in BLS Library's SARA catalog record, click: ACCESS ONLINE VERSION > in Westlaw China's "Subscriber Area" click: "log in" beneath the line asking if one is a Westlaw China subscriber

Includes English-language "Case Headnotes" (with links to full-text cases in Chinese) for selected topics.  Tab: "Legislation & Regulations" includes judicial interpretations of the Supreme People's Court of the People's Republic of China.

(Access Westlaw China on campus, in BLS housing, and elsewhere off campus if one has implemented the proxy server instructions.  Please log out after use of this database.)

Subscription: Canadian cases: HeinOnline's Canada Supreme Court Reports

(Access subscription HeinOnline databases on campus, in BLS housing, and elsewhere off campus if one has implemented the proxy server instructions.)   

Subscription: Indian cases: Manupatra

This is a single-user subscription.  Please contact a BLS reference librarian for assistance.  

Subscription: South African cases: Jutastat

This is a single-user subscription.  Please contact a BLS reference librarian for assistance.  This database includes Juta's South African Law Reports and an additional database of unreported decisions. 

Subscription: U.K. cases (+ Privy Council Appeal cases) published in The Law Reports + Weekly Law Reports: ICLR Online (PDF)

Tip: Cases published in The Law Reports, Appeal Cases have the reporter abbreviation: A.C.

(Access ICLR Online on campus, in BLS housing, and elsewhere off campus if one has implemented the proxy server instructions.)   

International Court of Justice

International Court of Justice: 

Basic Documents page links to Statute of the Court, Rules of Court & Practice Directions.

Cases page links to List of All Cases + Judgments, Advisory Opinions and Orders.

Tip: In Judgments, Advisory Opinions and Orders page, pull-down menu default = All decisions from 2015-2019, but researchers can change the date to display, for example: All decisions from 1946-2019.  With the exception of recent jurisprudence, the source is Reports of Judgments, Advisory Opinions and Orders (PDF). 

Tip: To search this Court's case-related documents, use the document search page.

Cases page also links to jurisprudence of the predecessor Permanent Court of International Justice (PDF).

Subscription HeinOnline: United Nations Law Collection includes this Court's cases, advisory opinions and orders (PDF).  

(Access subscription HeinOnline databases on campus, in BLS housing, and elsewhere off campus if one has implemented the proxy server instructions.)

Other subscription databases that offer many search features but do not provide this Court's jurisprudence in PDF:

Westlaw: International Court of Justice Decisions 

Lexis Advance: International Court of Justice Judgments & International Court of Justice Advisory Opinions    

Free historical research tool: World Court Digest (1986-2000) provided by Max Planck Institute.

International Criminal Court

International Criminal Court: 

Links to Situations and cases appear on this Court's main web page. 

"Core ICC texts" (the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court, the Rules of Procedure and Evidence, the Elements of Crimes, the Regulations of the Court, the Regulations of the Registry, the Regulations of the Office of the Prosecutor & the Code of Professional Conduct for counsel)   

ICC Legal Tools Database (an extensive international criminal law database) provides many advanced search features and filters.

Centre for International Law Research and Policy:

Case Matrix Network > ICC Case Matrix ("a service of the ICC Legal Tools Project," free registration required)

Peter Robinson:

Peter Robinson > Research Tools > links to: Peter Robinson's Summaries of Decisions of the International Criminal Court

Other Useful UN Legal Websites To Find Jurisprudence

Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (based on a database designed by Netherlands Institute of Human Rights (SIM) of Utrecht University), OHCHR Jurisprudence: Advanced Search         

International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea, Cases               

United Nations issue-focused web pages also guide researchers to treaties & jurisprudence, for example:

Global Issues: Human Rights (highlights treaties & links to websites of the United Nations Human Rights Council and the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights)                                                 

Global Issues: International Law and Justice (highlights treaties & links to websites of the International Law Commission, the Sixth (Legal) Committee that assists the work of the General Assembly, the International Court of Justice, the International Criminal Court, ad hoc tribunals & United Nations-assisted tribunals)  

Global Issues: Oceans and the Law of the Sea (highlights treaties & links to the website: Oceans and the Law of Sea, which guides researchers to the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea

Global Issues: Refugees (highlights the United Nations Convention relating to the Status of Refugees & links to UNHCR, the UN Refugee Agency)             

Other:                                                                     

Source of arbitral awards between states or states/international organizations: Reports of International Arbitral Awards (RIAA) (PDF)

See also subscription HeinOnline: United Nations Law Collection 

(Access subscription HeinOnline databases on campus, in BLS housing, and elsewhere off campus if one has implemented the proxy server instructions.)

Selected Supranational or Regional Courts & Tribunals

Institute for Human Rights and Development in Africa, African Human Rights Case Law Analyser

African Legal Information Institute (AfricanLII) (case law search feature, case indexes and beta version of a case law citator)

European Court of Human Rights - HUDOC (click link to: HUDOC database) & this Court's subject-oriented Factsheets on its case law

European Court of Justice, CURIA advanced search form (to find this Court's jurisprudence)

Inter-American Court of Human Rights, Jurisprudence Finder

International Commercial Arbitration

Shearman & Sterling and Columbia Law School, in cooperation with UNCITRAL, 1958 New York Convention Guide       

Tip: Includes: Case Law

United Nations Commission on International Trade Law, Case Law on UNCITRAL Texts (CLOUT) + Digests (including UNCITRAL Digest of Case Law on the Model Law on International Commercial Arbitration)

Subscription: Kluwer Arbitration

Subscription: Westlaw: International Arbitration Materials > tabs: Cases & Awards

Subscription Westlaw: Practical Law, International Arbitration

International Commercial Law

Michael Joachim Bonell, ed.-in-chief, UNILEX (searchable "database of international case law and bibliography on the CISG and on the UNIDROIT Principles of International Commercial Contracts") 

Institute of International Commercial Law, Elisabeth Haub School of Law, Pace University, CISG Database (free registration required)       

Tip: Includes legal material organized by CISG article.

United Nations Commission on International Trade Law, Case Law on UNCITRAL Texts (CLOUT) + Digests (including UNCITRAL Digest of Case Law on the United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods)

Subscription: Westlaw: American Law Reports-International  

Tip: Search for annotations (= articles that discuss cases) by keywords: "convention on contracts for the international sale of goods"

International Humanitarian Law

International Committee of the Red Cross, ICRC databases on international humanitarian law 
Includes ICRC national implementation database.

International Refugee Law

UNHCR, the UN Refugee Agency, Refworld > Search Case Law
See also Brooklyn Law School Library's international refugee law research guide > tab: Refugee Case Databases

International Trade: WTO/GATT Jurisprudence + Case Law on UNCITRAL Texts (CLOUT)

Subscription: Trade Law Guide 

Tip: Includes Jurisprudence Citators for both WTO & GATT 1947.  

(Access Trade Law Guide on campus, in BLS housing, and elsewhere off campus if one has implemented the proxy server instructions.)

World Trade Organization, Trade Topics: Dispute Settlement

Also consult the highly useful research guide: New York University School of Law Library, WTO/GATT Research.

United Nations Commission on International Trade Law, Case Law on UNCITRAL Texts (CLOUT)

International Water Law

Gabriel Eckstein, International Water Law Project includes tab: Case Law. 

Investment Treaty Arbitration

Subscription: Investor State Law Guide (scope: "[A]ll publicly available decisions and awards where the subject of the claim is an investment treaty.  Currently, NAFTA and ICSID awards and decisions are the most complete.")

Tip: Includes a Jurisprudence Citator.

(Access Investor State Law Guide on campus, in BLS housing, and elsewhere off campus if one has implemented the proxy server instructions.)

International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes, Cases: Advanced Search (PDF)

Print: ICSID Reports in BLS Library's International Law collection.

SubscriptionICSID Review 

Includes articles, cases and other documents about investment law and international business transactions.

(Access ICSID Review on campus, in BLS housing, and elsewhere off campus if one has implemented the proxy server instructions.)