Skip to main content

Federal Legislative History Research: Bills

Bills

  • Enact new legislation

  • Amend previous legislation

  • Originate in either House or Senate

  • Are printed and assigned numbers such as HR230 or S45

  • Are usually referred to committee with jurisdiction over the bill's subject matter.

Bill Facts

97% of bills "die in committee"

Bill Numbers die along with the bills

If bill is reintroduced in subsequent Congress, it is assigned a new bill number

 

Free Electronic Sources for Bills

Congress.gov - pdf legislative information on the Internet beginning with the 101st Congress (1989/90).

Bills may be searched by keyword or bill number. 

Congress.gov also provides Bill Summary and Status for bills going back to the 93rd Congress (1973-74).

FDsys - pdf congressional bills beginning with 103rd Congress (1993-94)

Electronic Sources for Bills

Bloomberg Law - pdf congressional bills beginning with 103rd Congress (1993-94)

 


 

LexisNexis - Full text of congressional bills from 101st Congress (1989-90) to current Congress, as well as well as summary and status of bills in current Congress.


Westlaw - Full text of congressional bills from 104th Congress (1995-96) to current Congress, as well as summary and status of bills in current Congress.


Proquest Congressional  - Full text of congressional bills and bill summaries and status from 101st Congress (1989-90) to current Congress.  


Proquest Legislative Insight - Full text of bills associated with enacted legislation from 1929 forward.

Subject Guide

Loreen Peritz's picture
Loreen Peritz
Contact:
250 Joralemon Street
Brooklyn, NY 11201
(718) 780-7538

BLS Library Collection

  As a depository library, Brooklyn Law School Library receives  the full text of all Congressional bills in microfiche through the Federal Depository Library Program.  Our collection begins with 1969 and is located in the lower level of the Library.  See a reference librarian for help.