Researching Your Paper: Journal Articles and News: Other BLS Databases

Another option for locating law review articles is HeinOnline, a subscription-based database available to all BLS users.  HeinOnline is produced by a legal publishing company (William S. Hein & Co.) and contains numerous library collections, such as the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library.

Two major advantages of using HeinOnline for law review articles are:  (1) the scope of coverage (in terms of years available) is generally much more extensive than Westlaw and LexisNexis; and (2) articles are available in their original format in PDF. However, depending on the journal, coverage may lag a year or two behind the most current issues.

You can access this database off campus by using the BLS proxy server. See https://www.brooklaw.edu/en/Library/Proxy-Server to set up your browser to use the proxy server.

1. Go to the HeinOnline Law Journal Library
    
2. If you have the article citation, you can easily locate the article by searching for the journal title and volume number.  You can also type the citation directly into the Citation Navigator; click on the Citation tab and then "Citation Navigator" at the top of the page to bring up the menu.
    
3. To search the database, use the toolbar at the top of the page.  "Advanced Search" allows you to search specific fields or by topic. 

A-Z Databases: OUP Legal Journals & Yearbooks tab

1. This page links to digital versions of many legal journals and three legal yearbooks published by Oxford University Press (OUP). 
2. Most of these subscription sources also provide "Advance articles."  (BLS researchers might need to click: More Content > Advance Articles.) 
3. Remote access to these OUP journals and yearbooks requires implementation of the BLS proxy server instructions for 1 web browser.  BLS librarians recommend implementing the proxy instructions for Firefox browser.

Focus: Articles and scholarly working papers regarding accounting, economics, finance, law, management, marketing, and negotiation 

Tip:  You do not need to register to access full text of articles

Tip:  Search database by keyword 

Tip: Browse by network, journal or topic

bepress is a network of law-related research materials. High quality working papers are contributed from law schools, research units, think tanks, conferences and other subject-appropriate groups.

Tip: Use the advanced search screen to search or browse by subject

bepress Legal repository