The following online indexes are useful for locating citations to articles and other law-related publications that may be relevant to your research; some also link to full-text articles. If you retrieve a citation and are unable to access the full article you can use "Find a Source" (link on the SARA catalog homepage) to search for the journal in which the article appears, or visit a reference librarian who will help you locate the article.
- LegalTrac
Indexes approximately 800 legal publications and contains law-related articles from an additional 1,000 periodicals, including major law reviews, legal newspapers, law specialty publications, and bar association journals. Coverage begins in 1980.
Tip: Use the Subject Guide Search tab to search for articles by subject.
- Current Index to Legal Periodicals
The Current Index to Legal Periodicals offers an index to the most current peer-reviewed law journals in the United States. Coverage beings in 1999 and is updated weekly. Also available on Hein.
- Legal Source
Legal Source on EBSCO includes over 1,200 full-text journals and over 2.5 million records, including book reviews and case citations. Legal Source offers information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical law, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment.
- Index to Periodical Articles Related to Law through HeinOnline
Indexes periodical articles associated to the subject of law that were not being indexed in any of the standard legal indexes listed above. If any of these standard indexes begins to index a title, the Authors of this Index discontinue indexing the title in their work. Coverage begins in 1958.
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) is a multilingual index to articles and book reviews appearing in nearly 600 legal journals published worldwide. It provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions. IFLP also analyzes the contents of approximately fifty individually published collections of legal essays, Festschriften, Mélanges, and congress reports each year.
