Skip to main content

Global Financial Crisis: Researching Foreign Responses: Legal News

Legal News

The World Bank Group, Doing Business 2010: Downloads

At the link above, see heading: Economy and Regional profiles. 

Click on the pull-down arrow to the right of: Doing Business 2010 Economy Profiles.  Select a country of interest. 

Each country report in Doing Business 2010 includes sections: Protecting Investors and Doing Business 2010 Reforms.  Laws and regulations mentioned in a country report might be available through the World Bank Group's free online database of business laws and regulations.

BNA’s Law School Professional Information Center includes:

International Business & Finance Daily

Banking Law Daily & Banking Report (weekly)

Tip: In these U.S.-focused banking law reports, search topics:

International Accounting

International Banking

International Finance

Tip: In these U.S.-focused banking law reports, search countries (under which BNA includes the EU), such as:

European Union

Russia

Switzerland

Securities Law Daily & Securities Regulation and Law Report (weekly)

Tip: In these U.S.-focused securities law reports, search topic:

International Developments

World Securities Law Report (monthly)

Tip: To view articles pertaining to a specific country, select option: See recent articles by: All Countries.  Then, select your country of interest.

(Accessible to BLS faculty, students and administrators on-campus, in BLS housing, and elsewhere off-campus if one has implemented the proxy instructions.)

Current issues of Bloomberg's Law Reports include:

Asia Pacific Law report (bi-monthly)

Highlights some banking/finance and securities law developments.  Includes the chart: "Significant Legislative and Regulatory Developments."

UK Financial Services Law report (monthly)

(Bloomberg Law database contains archives of Bloomberg's Law Reports.  Bloomberg Law database is accessible to BLS faculty, students and administrators.  Please contact Bloomberg account manager Pamela Haahr (oribe@bloomberg.net) to obtain a username and password.)

International Financial Law Review (monthly + IFLR website provides feature: Latest News Analysis)

Browse by sector: Financial Regulation

Browse by section: News Analysis (highlights foreign countries' current actions)

Advanced Search (enter name of foreign country, select types of materials and add a date restriction)  

Some IFLR articles are free, some articles require a subscription. The librarian on duty at the BLS Library reference desk can access subscription materials in IFLR's website.  BLS Library also has a print subscription to International Financial Law Review

International Corporate Rescue (bimonthly)

Describes key issues in insolvency and corporate rescue law.  Focus: U.S., U.K., Asia and Europe. Single-user access subscription.  The librarian on duty at the BLS Library reference desk can access articles in ICR's website.

ISinoLaw (China)

Main screen features Legal News (updated daily).

Example: Central Government Set Guidelines Regulating SOE Executives' Salaries (Sept. 18, 2009)

Click: More to reach a screen at which one can search for legal news stories.

(Accessible to BLS faculty, students and administrators on-campus, in BLS housing, and elsewhere off-campus if one has implemented the proxy instructions.  Single-user access subscription.  Please log off when done.)

Westlaw's United Kingdom Current Awareness: Finance and Banking 

(Updated 3 times each business day. Click link above and enter Westlaw user name and password.)

Legal News Provided by Financial Crisis Practice Groups

A number of law firms have formed financial crisis law practice groups.  Below are links to web sources posted by some of these practice groups:

Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld

Gibson Dunn & Crutcher

K&L Gates

Mayer Brown