Skip to main content

South African Legal Research: Indexes to Articles

Focus: Sources to support U.S. law students working in a South African legal aid clinic

Southern African Legal Information Institute (SAFLII): LawCite

SAFLII provides LawCite.

To obtain cites to legal articles, enter a case citation, case party names or words that you seek in an article's title.

 

Index to South African Periodicals

TIP: South African universities likely will subscribe to Sabinet's online Index to South African Periodicals ($), which indexes articles from 600+ periodicals. 

National Library of South Africa provides "limited" free online access to Index to South African Periodicals

Useful for retrospective research.  

In this free version of the Index, a search result includes: title of article; abstract; title of periodical; and year of publication.  The result does not include issue # of periodical or beginning page of article.  

Other Indexes to African Legal Periodicals

AfricaBib provides Africana Periodical Literature Bibliographic Database.

Supports searches by region: Southern Africa and by country: South Africa.

AfricaBib provides African Women Bibliographic Database.

Supports searches by region: Southern Africa and by country: South Africa.

Library of Congress provides Quarterly Bibliography of African Literature.

Includes ability to "search within country: South Africa."

Tip To Obtain Articles

Through interlibrary loans, BLS faculty, students and administrative staff can request articles unavailable at BLS Library. 

BLS Library's 360 Search ($)

OneSearch allows you to run a search for articles in multiple BLS Library databases.  OneSearch does not index articles in LexisAdvance, Westlaw and Bloomberg Law.  

If you are not working on-campus or in BLS housing, to access many of your OneSearch results, you will need to implement the Proxy Instructions for Access to BLS Library Databases