Skip to Main Content
International Commercial Arbitration & Investment Arbitration Databases
- Jus Mundi (subscription database) (Accessible off-campus to BLS students, faculty and administrators if you have implemented the BLS proxy instructions for one web browser.)
- In BLS Library's catalog record, follow link: ACCESS ONLINE VERSION - (JUS MUNDI)
- Jus Mundi includes conventions (tab: Treaties), cases and arbitral awards (tab: Cases), institutions' rules (tab: Rules) and some publications (tab: Publications). Note: Many Publications that will appear in a Jus Mundi search result require subscription to additional Jus Mundi "Libraries."
- BLS Library subscribes to Jus Mundi's: ICC Dispute Resolution Library. ICC DRL provides a searchable version of: ICC Dispute Resolution Bulletin.
- Tip for BLS patrons: If you cannot retrieve a specific Jus Mundi publication, please try entering the journal title or book title in SARA catalog. BLS Library might have acquired the journal or book from a different vendor. Feel free to email: askthelibrary@brooklaw.edu or to text: (718) 734-2432 for help.
- Kluwer Arbitration (subscription database) (Accessible off-campus to BLS students, faculty and administrators if you have implemented the BLS proxy instructions for one web browser.)
- In BLS Library's catalog record, follow link: ACCESS ONLINE VERSION - (WOLTERS KLUWER)
- Kluwer Arbitration includes conventions, model laws, laws, commentary (journals and treatises), cases and arbitral awards. It provides material from two well-known Kluwer print publications: Yearbook: Commercial Arbitration (containing selected cases and arbitral awards) and International Handbook on Commercial Arbitration (containing reports about arbitration developments in specific countries and texts of countries’ arbitration laws). It also provides selected arbitration journals.
- Tip: Start typing in Kluwer Arbitration database's main screen search box. Then, a researcher will see Kluwer Arbitration's search suggestions and Boolean (AND, OR, NOT, NEAR) search query construction tips.
- Tip: In Kluwer Arbitration database, use the search prefilters (= "pull down" menu on left in main screen search box). Available search filters include: author, content type, publication title, publication type and jurisdiction.
- Tip: To find court decisions interpreting the Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards (New York Convention, 1958), use Kluwer Arbitration's New York Convention Tool.
- UNCITRAL > Texts and Status > International Commercial Arbitration (publicly accessible database)
- Includes UNCITRAL's conventions, explanatory texts, model law on international commercial arbitration and the UNCITRAL Arbitration Rules.
- Includes searchable CLOUT database of cases and arbitral awards re. conventions/model laws that emanated from UNCITRAL’s work.
- Westlaw (subscription database)
- Provides International Arbitration Materials
- Provides Practical Law > Arbitration
- Provides Practical Law > Global Home > Arbitration
- Provides American Law Reports International (= articles that analyze "U.S. and foreign cases from Engish- and non-English-speaking countries on specific legal issues of international import")
- To obtain articles w/ cites to (and sometimes links to) global cases regarding the United Nations Convention on Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards, June 10, 1958, 330 U.N.T.S. 38 (also known as the "New York Convention”), run search:
- ti("Construction and Application of United Nations Convention on Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards")
- To research arbitration rules applicable to proceedings under the ICSID Convention, run search:
- ti("Construction, Application and Interpretation of Washington Convention and ICSID Arbitration Rules and Additional Facility Rules through ICSID Arbitral Awards")
- Provides American Review of International Arbitration, Dispute Resolution Journal, International Arbitration Law Review, Vindobona Journal of International Commercial Law and Arbitration + many other U.S./U.K. law journals, West/Sweet & Maxwell treatises about arbitration, some coverage for arbitral awards, good coverage for cases of Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, U.K., U.S. and laws of Australia, Canada, U.K., U.S.
- Provides: Restatement of the U.S. Law of International Commercial and Investor–State Arbitration (drafts + case citations to drafts)
- Law360.com > section: International Arbitration provides legal news and expert commentary. "Attached Documents" box (on right) often links to briefs, decisions or awards. (Accessible off-campus to BLS students, faculty and administrators if you have implemented the BLS proxy instructions for one web browser.)
- University of Victoria Faculty of Law, italaw (publicly accessible database) provides decisions and arbitral awards.
- Investment Arbitration Reporter (subscription database) provides news, analysis and links to many decisions and arbitral awards. (Accessible off-campus to BLS students, faculty and administrators if you have implemented the BLS proxy instructions for one web browser.)
- Investor State Law Guide (subscription database) provides international investment treaties, rules, awards and decisions.
- Tip for BLS students, faculty and administrators who are off campus using a web browser that communicates with the BLS proxy server: After clicking the ACCESS ONLINE VERSION link in BLS Library's catalog record for Investor State Law Guide, click: LOGIN (top right of ISLG's home screen) > Auto Login (top right). Highly useful: includes an Article [of treaty or arbitration rules] Citator, Jurisprudence Citator and Publication CItator.
