Skip to main content

Resources for Louisiana State Law Research: Statutes and Legislation

Louisiana State Statutes

Online (subscription databases):

Westlaw (LA-ST-ANN): Current annotated statutes include Constitution, Revised Statutes, Codes, and Court Rules

Lexis Advance: Current annotated statutes including Revised Statutes, Codes and Court Rules

Online (public access):

A browsable version of the full text of the Louisiana Laws is made available by the Louisiana State Legislature. It includes:

  • Revised Statutes
  • Louisiana Constitution & Ancillaries
  • Children's Code
  • Civil Code
  • Codes of Civil and Criminal Procedure, and Code of Evidence
  • House, Senate, and Joint Rules

For more advanced searching, or to go quickly to a specific citation, use the Louisiana Laws Search.

Louisiana State Legislative Materials

Online (subscription databases):

Westlaw has:

  • Louisiana Legislative Service for the most recent session (LA-LEGIS) as well as prior sessions (LA-LEGIS-OLD) back to 1986
  • Louisiana Legislative History (LA-LH) which contains Bill Digests, Bill Histories, and House and Senate Journals from the 23rd Regular Session (1997) through current sessions
  • Louisiana Bill Tracking (LA-BILLTXT) and Louisiana Text Archives (LA-BILLTXT-OLD) which have full text of all available bills (introduced, amended, and enacted versions) from the current and previous sessions of the Louisiana Legislature (back to 2005).

Online (public access):

All bills from 1997 to the present are available on the Louisiana Legislature's website, along with the current session bulletin. The site provides a useful FAQ page that provides guidance on searching for bills, as well as other pertinent questions.

The site also has House of Representative and Senate press releases.

The Louisiana State Senate website has session and committee information, as well as a searchable database of Board and Commission contact information.

The Louisiana House of Representatives website has a wide range of information, including session journals for previous years, live and archived video webcasts, and information about members.