Skip to main content

Resources for Louisiana State Law Research: Treatises and Periodicals

Louisiana Treatises

Westlaw:

Louisiana Civil Law Treatise: Provides comprehensive expert commentary, forms, checklists and step-by-step guidance on a wide rance of topics, including Tort, Property, and Matrimonial Law, as well as Louisiana Civil Procedure.

Louisiana Criminal Trial Practice Formulary: Forms provided by attorneys in LA and throughout the country, in addition to sample forms used by law enforcement and other administrative agencies within the criminal justice system.

Louisiana Practice Series: How-to information for handling both complex and routine legal problems in a multitude of areas.

Lexis Advance:

Labor and Employment in Louisiana: A Guide to Employment Laws, Regulations & Practices: Concise, readable explanation of applicable federal and state labor and employment law.

Louisiana Code of Evidence Practice Guide: Analyzes the Louisiana Code of Evidence article by article; compares and contrasts every article of the Code with the parallel article of the Federal Rules of Evidence.

Louisiana Tort Law: Covers all major areas of tort theory and practice in the state, including detailed coverage of intentional torts, negligence, strict liability, absolute liability, and defenses.
 

Louisiana Periodicals

Westlaw:

The Louisiana News page on Westlaw provides access to a variety of state news publications.

Louisiana Law Reviews and Journals: Full-text articles from law reviews, bar journals, and other legal periodicals published in the state of Louisiana. 

Lexis Advance:

Louisiana News Publications: This comprehensive database contains both general and legal news sources for the state including:

  • The Advocate (Baton Rouge, Louisiana)
  • Louisiana Bar Journal
  • New Orleans CityBusiness (New Orleans, LA)
  • Times-Picayune (New Orleans)

Louisiana Law Reviews Combined: Contains the full text of documents from all law reviews
published by schools located in or affiliated with the state of Louisiana.