Skip to main content

Brooklyn Law School Library in a Nutshell: Circulation Policies

This guide is a brief introduction to and overview of the Brooklyn Law School Library. Described here are the services, resources, facilities and staff of the Library.

Circulating Material

Most of the library's research and reference materials do not circulate.  Those materials which do circulate are located primarily in the main and international collections in the cellar.  These materials may be charged out by students for the semester, upon presentation of a valid BLS ID card at the circulation desk.  Circulating materials not requested by another borrower may be renewed online through the SARA catalog, by telephone or in person at the circulation desk.  To renew online, go to SARA and log on to your Koha account.

Anyone with borrowing privileges may also request that materials currently on loan be recalled.  The patron in possession of the recalled item will receive an email alerting that the title has been recalled and needs to be returned in two weeks.  As soon as tahe title is returned, the requesting patron will be notified of its availability.

The following materials do not circulate:

  • Federal, regional and state primary sources (court reports, statutes, administrative material, etc.)
  • Periodicals, bound and unbound
  • Loose-leaf services
  • Finding tools (digests, indexes, dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories, etc.)
  • Multi-volume sets
  • Form books
  • Reserve and reference material

The fee for overdue books is $0.25 per day, per item, for each day any regular circulating material is overdue.  For reserve and reference material, the fee is $1.00 per hour past due.  For non-course reserve audio and video materials, the fee is $3.00 per day.  For overdue laptops, the fee is $10.00 per hour or any fraction of an hour.

If an item you are looking for is not on the shelf, please go to the circulation desk and ask for a "Missing Book Form."  We will look for the item and notify you when it is found or suggest an alternate method of finding the material.

Reserve & Audio Visual Material

The library has a collection of regular and course reserve material, including one copy of all casebooks, shelved behind the circulation desk.  These materials may be borrowed for two hours in-library use and may be renewed if not requested by another user.  All reserve material are listed in the SARA catalog.

Audio and video cassettes DVDs that are not on course reserve may be borrowed for 48 hours.  These materials are also listed in SARA and are shelved in room 111, the Tech CoLab.  For access to this room, please ask at the circulation desk.

In addition to the DVDs in room 111, the Robert M. Pitler DVD Collection is shelved in room 104M.  This collection of popular, non-legal DVDs was given to the library by the late Professor Pitler.  These DVDs may be charged out for one week.

Rare Books

The library has a large collection of rare books, some of which date back to the 17th century.  These materials are shelved on the 2nd floor, the 2nd mezzanine, and the 3rd floor.  The collection on the second mezzanine is the Nathan R. Sobel Rare Book Collection.  These books were the collection of Judge Nathan R. Sobel, a justice on the Brooklyn Supreme Court, as well as Brooklyn Surrogate.

The rare books are listed in the SARA catalog and do not circulate.  For access to a rare book, please ask for assistance at the first floor circulation desk.