Skip to main content

Brooklyn Law School Library in a Nutshell: Searching SARA: The Online Catalog

This guide is a brief introduction to and overview of the Brooklyn Law School Library. Described here are the services, resources, facilities and staff of the Library.

SARA: The Online Catalog

The library's online catalog is named SARA, in honor of Professor Sara Robbins, Library Director and Professor of Law from 1984 to 2006.  Professor Robbins' guidance led to the library's move from a manual card catalog to the electronic catalog we have today.

Searching SARA

The link to SARA may be found here. SARA may be searched by:

  • Title
  • Author
  • Subject
  • ISBN (International Standard Book Number)
  • Series
  • Call Number

Users can also perform advanced searches in SARA which allow one to narrow the results received by using such filters as: course reserve, e-book, internet resource, microform, video recording, etc. Searches may also be limited by date and language.

The search results will provide you with a list of one or more items that the library has in the collection.  From the results list, you can click on any item of interest and the full bibliographic record will appear.  The bibliographic record gives you a full description of the item as well as the call number, location, and availability.

Searching Beyond SARA

From the SARA catalog page there are links to resources beyond the library's physical collection, the first of which is One Search. One Search is a discovery service which allows the user to search not only the catalog records, but also journals, subscription databases, the Internet, etc.  This is a powerful tool when one is looking for journal articles; often the full-text of the article will be available immediately.

From this page you can also Find a Source by typing a title or subject and get a List of Databases by Subject.

To access a BLS subscription database from an off-campus location, please go to our proxy server instructions.

If you are unable to find the item you want in the library's collection, you can search WorldCat to see if another library has the item you are seeking.  If you want to go to another library and look at the item there, please speak with a reference librarian for the appropriate pass or letter for access to that library.

 

Your Koha Account

The library uses Koha, an integrated library software, for our SARA catalog.  All students, faculty, and staff have their own individual Koha accounts.  You can login to your Koha account on the SARA catalog page by entering your BLS username and password.  You will then be able to view your:

  • Checked out items 
  • Fines due
  • Search history
  • Reading history
  • Lists created