Skip to main content

Career Research: Profiles

NALP Directory

NALP Directory of Legal Employers - "[P]rovides specific information on law firms, government agencies, public interest organizations, and corporations, including lawyer demographics, practice areas, compensation and benefits, diversity and inclusion practices, and other valuable information about legal employers."

WestlawNext

Profiler - Provides a search template to obtain profiles of judges, practitioners, law firms and courts in the U.S. states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Canada and Europe. Entries often links to cases, case dockets, briefs and other filings.

Profiler's template supports searching by name, city, state and practice area.  

To search for lawyers' undergraduate schools in Profiler, try using WestlawNext's but not search feature, for example:         

 

Unfortunately, the search above will not retrieve those who attended the same university for both college and law school.  BLS librarians have asked WestlawNext's usability group to add Profiler fields for undergraduate affiliation and law school affiliation.  

Almanac of the Federal Judiciary - Provides biographical information on currently serving U.S. federal judges, including U.S. Supreme Court justices, circuit court judges, district court judges, magistrates and bankruptcy court judges. Complements data in Profiler because this Almanac often includes links to publications and summaries of/links to "noteworthy rulings."  Also includes media coverage and anonymous lawyers' evaluations.

Directory of Corporate Counsel - Provides biographical information about corporate legal counsel and counsel for nonprofit organizations.

West Legal Directory - Contains more than one million profiles of law firms and branch offices, in addition to biographical records of attorneys in any of the 50 U.S. states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Canada, and Europe. Useful if you want to search for lawyers by practice area or geographic location.   

Other Directories

Directory available through the free web:

Biographical Directory of Federal Judges,1789-Present

Directories available by request at BLS Library's Circulation Desk:

The American Bench: Judges of the Nation (Call Number: Reference - KF 8775 .A151 A437)

Includes biographical information about U.S. federal and state court judges.

BNA's Directory of State and Federal Courts, Judges and Clerks (Call Number: Reference - KF 8700.A19 B15)

Tip: click the title (above) to link to this directory in Bloomberg Law.

Second Circuit Redbook: A Handbook on Personnel and Procedures in the United States Courts in the Second Judicial Circuit (Call Number: Reference - KF 8752 2nd .S37)

Bloomberg Law

Bloomberg Law's home screen links to Career Resources:

Career Resources - Includes a People Search template. Also links to Dockets, a template to find case documents filed with courts. Tip: search Dockets by name of an attorney or firm to learn about a lawyer's or firm's current cases. 

Lexis Advance

Litigation Profile Suite - Provides profiles of judges and practitioners.

 

Litigation Profile Suite supports searching either by name or by selecting: Judge or Attorney from the pull-down menu.