Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

U.S. Immigration Law Research Starting Points: Articles

Guide created for Brooklyn Law School's Safe Harbor Project

Legal Articles

Pre-prints of Legal Articles & Book Chapters:

BLS Library subscribes to online versions of selected refugee law journals. They include articles prior to publication (pre-prints).  These sources are available off campus to current BLS students, faculty & staff who have implemented the BLS proxy server instructions.  Some of the pre-prints of articles are publicly accessible.  These online journals also have deep archives of articles that researchers can search through "advanced search" links on these journals' home pages.

International Journal of Refugee Law > tab: Advance Articles

Journal of Refugee Studies > tab: More Content > Advance Articles

Refugee Survey Quarterly > tab: Advance Articles 

SSRN eLibrary Database Search (free registration required to access the text of many sources posted here)

SSRN provides legal working papers + pre-prints of legal articles & book chapters.  Scope is worldwide.

Free Subject-oriented Collection of Legal Articles:

Immigration Law Commons

Tips: Top of screen provides a search box for articles in Immigration Law Commons.  Bottom of screen provides a search box for all "Law" articles in the Digital Commons Network.

Published Legal & Non-legal Articles:

Tip for current BLS students, faculty & staff who have implemented the BLS proxy server instructions: At BLS Library's website, change search: I'd like to search: All Resources to I'd like to search: Articles.  Enter search keywords. Search results yield articles available through BLS Library.  These include results from $ HeinOnline, $ ProQuest & $ Academic/Business Source Premier. 

Published Legal Articles & AILA Conference Publications:

Tip for law students: Benefits of AILA law student membership (now FREE!) include online access to AILA Law Journal, accessible by clicking $ AILALink's home page menu category: AILA Periodicals.  Also explore home page menu category: AILA Conference Publications, in particular: Immigration Practice Pointers.

$ HeinOnline provides deep archives of legal journal articles in PDF.  HeinOnline databases are available off campus to current BLS students, faculty & staff who have implemented the BLS proxy server instructions.

Electronic CILP Download Page includes recent issues of Current Index to Legal Periodicals + link to set up a weekly SmartCILP email alert highlighting recently published legal articles.

BLS students, faculty & administrators can sign up to receive a weekly Monday email alert highlighting recent articles published in 650+ legal journals by clicking tab: Create New SmartCILP User.  Users can customize their alerts to only receive alerts on specific topics & alerts from specific journals.

Tip for BLS users: Your first customized SmartCILP alert might be "caught" by Mimecast.  So, on the first Monday after you create your SmartCILP alert, please look in your BLS Outlook inbox to see if you have a "[Postmaster] messages on hold for [your name]@brooklaw.edu" message.  You likely will see a message heading with the subject: SmartCILP--on the right side of the screen, you will need to click the word: Permit to release this SmartCILP email & to receive future weekly SmartCILP emails.

Hein Online Law Journal Library

Tips: Use Advanced Search & review HeinOnline's Advanced Search Syntax Guide.

Includes Georgetown Immigration Law Journal (no embargo on recent articles) & International Journal of Refugee Law (3-year embargo on recent articles).

$ Lexis+ > Secondary Materials > Law Reviews & Journals

Tip: Use this page to search all available legal journals in $ Lexis+.

$ Lexis+ > Practice Center > Immigration

Immigration Law Review Articles Combined includes published articles from Georgetown Immigration Law Journal & International Journal of Refugee Law.

$ Westlaw Edge > Secondary Sources > click: By Type: Law Reviews & Journals

Tip: Use this page to search all available legal journals in $ Westlaw Edge.

$ Westlaw Edge > Practice Area > Immigration > Immigration Resources: Secondary Sources includes Immigration Briefings ("in-depth analysis of a timely immigration law topic each month") & Georgetown Immigration Law Journal.

Note: Many more sources appear in section: Articles of BLS Library's International Refugee Law research guide.