White Collar Crime Research: Articles

Google Scholar:

1. Tip for current BLS students, faculty & staff who do not live in a BLS residence: Search Google Scholar through a web browser that communicates with the BLS proxy server because you will be able to link to more full-text results.  (See BLS proxy server instructions.)
2. Search example: Google Scholar search: fertility clinic fraud yields article: Understanding Illicit Insemination and Fertility Fraud, from Patient Experience to Legal Reform as available in $ HeinOnline.  If a BLS researcher is using a web browser that communicates with the BLS proxy server, the researcher will be able to link to this article in $ HeinOnline.
3. Google Scholar will yield some results in sources that BLS Library does not own or license.  Tip: During reference hours, BLS librarians can help you to find sources.  Email: askthelibrary@brooklaw.edu, text: 718.734.2432 or use the chat feature: "Need Help?" on this page. 
4. Sometimes a student will need to access BLS Library's SARA catalog > click tab: ILL > log in with the student's BLS user name/password > click: CREATE REQUEST > make an interlibrary loan request for an article.

Pre-prints of Legal Articles & Book Chapters: 

Free Subject-oriented Collection of Legal Articles:

Criminal Law Commons

1. Top of screen (right) provides a search box for articles in Criminal Law Commons. 
2. Bottom of screen provides a search box for all "Law" articles in Digital Commons Network.

Tool to Find/Link to Published Legal & Non-legal Articles Available Through BLS Library

1. Tips for current BLS students, faculty & staff who either live in a BLS residence or have implemented the BLS proxy server instructions: Enter search keywords.  In search results, click filter: Online full text.  If you wish, in search results, click filter: Source type > check: Academic Journals and/or News.
2. Search results yield articles available through BLS Library.  These include results from $ Academic/Business Source Premier, $ HeinOnline & $ ProQuest. 

Published Legal Articles:

$ HeinOnline provides deep archives of legal journal articles in PDF.  HeinOnline databases are available off campus to current BLS students, faculty & staff who have implemented the BLS proxy server instructions.

Hein Online Law Journal Library

1. Note: There are embargos on current vols. of some journals, for example: Criminal Justice Policy Review (full-text delay = 3 years).
2. Search tips: Use Advanced Search & review HeinOnline's Advanced Search Syntax Guide.
3. Citation tip: After retrieving an article in Hein Online Law Journal Library, click tab: Cite to retrieve a cite to the article in what Hein believes is correct Bluebook (21st ed.) format.  Researchers also should check the appropriate Bluebook rule, in this case: B.16 Periodical Materials.
4. Hein Online Law Journal Library also groups legal journals by topic: Criminal Law & Procedure.  American Criminal Law Review publishes an Annual Survey of White Collar Crime (arranged by topic).  Click here to view the table of contents to the most recent Annual Survey. 

Electronic CILP Download Page includes recent issues of Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP). 

1. Search tip: Search CILP by keywords like “white collar crime” or view a recent issue.
2. Search tip: White collar crime articles are likely to appear under subjects: Criminal Law & Procedure or Sentencing & Punishment.
3. Tracking tip: BLS students, faculty & administrators can sign up to receive a weekly Monday email alert highlighting recent articles published in 650+ legal journals by clicking tab: Create New SmartCILP User.  Users can customize their alerts to only receive alerts on specific topics & alerts from specific journals.
4. Tip for BLS users: Your first customized SmartCILP alert might be "caught" by Mimecast.  So, on the first Monday after you create your SmartCILP alert, please look in your BLS Outlook inbox to see if you have a "[Postmaster] messages on hold for [your name]@brooklaw.edu" message.  You likely will see a message heading with the subject: SmartCILP--on the right side of the screen, you will need to click the word: Permit to release this SmartCILP email & to receive future weekly SmartCILP emails.

$ Lexis+ > Secondary Materials > Law Reviews & Journals

1. Tip: Use this page to search all available legal journals in $ Lexis+.

$ Lexis+ > Explore Content: Criminal Law & Procedure includes: All Criminal Law Reviews & Journals.

$ Westlaw Precision > Secondary Sources > click: By Type: Law Reviews & Journals

1. Tip: Use this page to search all available legal journals in $ Westlaw Precision.
2. Citation tip: After retrieving a legal article in Westlaw Precision, click: Copy pull-down menu (on far right of screen) & select: Copy citation to retrieve a "Standard" cite to the article in what Westlaw Precision believes is correct Bluebook format.  Researchers also should check the appropriate Bluebook rule, in this case: B.16 Periodical Materials.

$ Westlaw Precision > Practice Area: Criminal Law > Content Type: Secondary Sources  allows you to filter by publication type: Law Reviews & Journals.

Other:

If behavioral psychology articles might be relevant to a particular project, search Google Scholar, BLS Library’s subscription to $ PsycNET index & free PubMed (which might link to full-text content).