LibGuides: Climate Change and Environmental Law Guide: U.S. Law

Federal Laws & Regulations

Summary of Federal Environmental Laws
The Library of Congress's Research Guide on U.S. Environmental Law provides an excellent summary of the major federal acts, including citations with direct links to the acts and relevant agency pages.
Federal Agencies and Regulations
U.S. EPA - Laws and Executive Orders
Proposed Environmental Regulations

State Laws

States have their own environmental law and agencies. The Law Library of Congress has created research guides for every U.S. state and territory: Guide to Law Online: U.S. States and Territories In addition, use the online resources below for researching state environmental law.

National Conference of State Legislatures - Environment and Natural Resources
Includes an environmental bill tracking database.
U.S. EPA - Health and Environmental Agencies of U.S. States and Territories

Print & E-Books

Climate Change: Federal Policy Approaches, Perspectives and Adaptation Efforts by Konstantin Paerson
ISBN: 9781628087918
Publication Date: 2013

SEC Disclosure Rules

Press Release: SEC Adopts Rules to Enhance and Standardize Climate-Related Disclosures for Investors
On March 6, 2024, the SEC adopted rules to enhance and standardize climate-related disclosures by public companies and in public offerings
Final Rule: The Enhancement and Standardization of Climate-Related Disclosures for Investors

Legislative Histories

ProQuest Legislative Insight is an excellent, user friendly resource for searching the legislative history of federal acts. Search by popular name or cite. In addition, Hein has several compiled legislative histories:

HeinOnline Compiled Legislative Histories

Government Reports

NOAA Climate Monitoring Reports
Includes reports such as monthly climate reports and extreme climate events, e.g., drought reports, wildfire reports, storm reports etc.
Congressional Research Service - Climate Change
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) serves as shared staff to congressional committees and Members of Congress. CRS experts assist at every stage of the legislative process — from the early considerations that precede bill drafting, through committee hearings and floor debate, to the oversight of enacted laws and various agency activities.
GlobalChange.gov
The U.S. Global Change Research Program (USGCRP) is a federal program mandated by Congress to coordinate federal research and investments in understanding the forces shaping the global environment, both human and natural, and their impacts on society. USGCRP facilitates collaboration and cooperation across its 13 federal member agencies to advance understanding of the changing Earth system and maximize efficiencies in federal global change research.

News

Bloomberg Law: Energy and Climate Report
BNA newsletter on climate change.
more...less...
Need Bloomberg Law account to access.
Law 360 - Environmental
Law 360 is a legal news site. Their articles often link to primary source materials such as complaints, opinions, and other legal documents. Use the advanced search feature on the upper right side to search by key word and topic.

Treatises and Handbooks

Rodgers Environmental Law (Westlaw)
Covers a broad range of issues including carbon trading, NEPA, the Clean Air and Clean Water Acts, energy and the environment, and recent issues such as the Dakota Access and COVID-19.
Treatise on Environmental Law (Lexis)
Covers several topics including climate change, air and water pollution, hazardous waste, energy and the environment, and Native Americans and environmental protection.
Law of Environmental Protection (Westlaw)
Provides guidance for both understanding and complying with key environmental laws and regulations.

Journals

Westlaw - Law Reviews and Journals
Lexis - Law Reviews and Journals
HeinOnline - Law Journal Library
HeinOnline: Environmental Law Journals
List of environmental law reviews and journals