LibGuides: China: Starting Points for Legal Research: Laws & Regulations

Laws & Regulations

Tools for researchers who wish to identify laws of the People's Republic of China by subject: Alex Zhang, country ed., People's Republic of China (updated: 09/12/2021) in Marci Hoffman, general ed., Foreign Law Guide (subscription source - proxy required) + Changhao Wei, ed., NPC Observer > tab: Legislation (includes pull-down menu option: Legislation by Category).

Laws & Regulations in English Translation:

PKU Law
In Chinese and English. Collection of laws, regulations, judicial cases, law journals, int'l. treaties, white papers, and a legal glossary.
Note: Researchers can view the text of much material under tabs "Laws & Regulations" and "Judicial Cases," but the "Copy Full Text" feature requires a subscription. At present, BLS Library does not subscribe to this resource.
User Guide to PKU Law
Lexis: China Law Database
Includes selected "Chinese laws, regulations, tax information, judicial decisions and other legal documents, collected from government sources, and translated by LexisNexis China Online (COL) in Beijing. "
National People's Congress of the People's Republic of China, "Constitution" page [in English]
Constitute Project, In-force constitution available: China (People’s Republic of) 1982 (rev. 2018)
The Civil Code of the People's Republic of China: English Translation (2022) / edited by Lei Chen (convener), Jiangqiu Ge, Jian He, Qiao Liu, Zhicheng Wu & Bingwan Xiong.
Click link in SARA catalog record: ACCESS ONLINE VERSION (EBC).
Arthur Dong, Civil Code of the People's Republic of China [A contribution by the ITA Board of Reporters] (Kluwer Arbitration)
The Civil Code of the People's Republic of China, adopted at the Third Session of the 13th National People's Congress of the People's Republic of China on May 28, 2020, effective Jan. 1, 2021.
WorldLII
Laws of the People's Republic of China. (Note: this database was last updated in 2008.)
Tables of Contents for Issues of the State Council Gazette [English translation]
There is no English version of the State Council Gazette, but the State Council has made the tables of contents of recent issues available in English.

Laws by Subject:

DigiChina
Stanford Cyber Policy Center provides English translations of primary legal sources re. China's technology policy landscape. Searchable.
ECOLex - China
Collection of environmental legislation, jurisprudence, and treaties.
FAOLex - China
Links to national policies, and legislation in several subject areas including: agriculture & rural development, climate change, cultivated plants, environment, disaster risk management, fisheries, food & nutrition, forestry, gender, social protection, land and soil, livestock, sea, water, wild species & ecosystems, renewable energy law, mineral resources law.
NatLex - China
Public Health Policy & Regulations.
WIPOLex - China
Legislation, treaties, and judgments related to intellectual property.
WIPOLex - Hong Kong
WIPOLex - Macao
Bloomberg Law: In Focus: China Privacy (subscription)
Includes unofficial English translations of China's: Personal Information Protection Law, Cybersecurity Law and Data Security Law.
IBFD Tax Research Platform "Search" Page (subscription: proxy required)
On left of screen, researchers can filter by: Country: China. Researchers also can view search results by category: News, Tables, Country Tax Guides, Treaties & Models, Primary Sources, Case Law or Journal & Opinion Pieces.
Kluwer Arbitration (subscription: proxy required)
Includes legislation, treaties, court decisions, commentary and bilateral investment treaties.
Transnational Dispute Management (subscription: proxy required)
TDM is a peer-reviewed online journal publishing about various aspects of international arbitration with a special focus on investment arbitration. The online database includes arbitration awards, legislation, treaties and commentary related to investment arbitration.

Laws and Regulations in Chinese:

2.2: Sources in Chinese in Joan Lijun Liu, UPDATE: Finding Chinese Law on the Internet (GlobaLex)
Lists several subscription and government sites containing laws, regulations and judgments in Chinese.

China: Starting Points for Legal Research: Laws & Regulations

Laws & Regulations

Lexis > China & Hong Kong SAR (subscription)

Bloomberg Law (subscription)