Researching Mass Incarceration and Prison Abolition: Journals & Sources of Articles

This is a forum to advance "bold ideas to end mass incarceration in the United States." Forum authors are from the fields of "activism and community organizing to law and policy, academia, journalism, and public health."
Tab: Topics includes: "Law & Policy" (discussing "how law and public policy shape mass incarceration"); "Decarceral Pathways" ("testing and sharing decarceral ideas"): and "Futures" ("imagining a world without mass incarceration").

Tip: Search many periodicals contained in subscription HeinOnline's Criminal Justice and Criminology collection (PDF). (Off-campus: requires proxy.)
Includes: American Criminal Law Review; American Journal of Criminal Law; Crime and Delinquency (3-year embargo); Criminal Justice and Behavior (3-year embargo); Criminology (3-year embargo); Critical Criminology (1-year embargo); Death Row U.S.A. Reporter; Defense Counsel Journal; Department of Justice Journal of Federal Law and Practice; Federal Probation; Forensic Sciences Research; Georgetown Law Journal Annual Review of Criminal Procedure; Howard Journal of Crime and Justice (2-year embargo); International Enforcement Law Reporter; Journal of Criminal Justice Education; Journal of Criminal Law and Criminology; Journal of Quantitative Criminology (1-year embargo); Journal of Research in Crime and Delinquency (3-year embargo); Judicature; Justice Quarterly (5-year embargo); Policing: An International Journal of Police Strategies & Management (2-year embargo); and many other sources.

Access: 02/01/1994 - present, available in Academic Search Premier. (Off campus: requires proxy.)

Access: Articles from 1999-present (PDF). In catalog record, click: ACCESS ONLINE VERSION - (SAGE). (Off campus: requires proxy.)

Access: Articles from 1999-present (PDF). In catalog record, click: ACCESS ONLINE VERSION - (SAGE). (Off campus: requires proxy.)

In catalog record, click: ACCESS ONLINE VERSION - (WILEY) to view the most recent articles. (Off campus: requires proxy.)

Public access. Scope: Articles from 1998-present (PDF).
Tip: Use pull-down menu to search for articles by topic.

In catalog record, click: ACCESS ONLINE VERSION. (Off campus: requires proxy - selected articles are open access.)
Tip: Search by keywords. Click: ADVANCED SEARCH and filter article results by topic: Prison Health Care.
Recent articles:
Ada Kwan et al., The Impact Of COVID-19 On The Health Of Incarcerated Older Adults In California State Prisons (Aug. 2022), https://doi.org/10.1377/hlthaff.2022.00132.
Riley D. Shearer et al., COVID-19 Vaccination of People Experiencing Homelessness and Incarceration In Minnesota (June 2022), https://doi.org/10.1377/hlthaff.2021.02030.
Rachael Bedard et al, Aging In Jail: Retrospective Analysis of Older Patients In New York City’s Jail System, 2015–19 (May 2022), https://doi.org/10.1377/hlthaff.2021.01518.
Tip: In an article, click "References" to find additional sources, such as: Rachael Bedard, Elderly, Detained and Justice-Involved: The Most Incarcerated Generation. CUNY Law Rev. Forthcoming 2022.
Jonathan S. Bor, The Aging of the U.S. Prison Population: A Public Health Crisis (May 2022), https://doi.org/10.1377/hlthaff.2022.00280

A series of open-access articles in Health & Justice (2020-2021) that explore "the transformative processes and findings from current efforts to positively alter the prison environment."

Access: Articles from 2020-present (PDF).
In catalog record, click: ACCESS ONLINE VERSION - (SAGE). (Off campus: requires proxy.)

Westlaw describes access as: 06/2003 - 03/2017, but it appears that articles are available through 04/2022 (not in PDF). Click link above and enter Westlaw user name and password.

Access: Articles from 03/01/1993 -2021 (PDF). (Off campus: requires proxy.)

Focus: UK & European Court of Human Rights.
Access: Sage: 1999-present (PDF); HeinOnline: 1937-2018 (PDF).
In catalog record, click: ACCESS ONLINE VERSION - (SAGE) or ACCESS ONLINE VERSION - (HEIN). (Off campus: requires proxy.)

Open access. International, peer-reviewed journal.

Access: Articles from 1999-present (PDF). In catalog record, click: ACCESS ONLINE VERSION - (SAGE). (Off campus: requires proxy.)

Access: Articles from 1999-present (PDF). In catalog record, click: ACCESS ONLINE VERSION - (SAGE). (Off campus: requires proxy.)

Access: Sage: 1999-present (PDF).
In catalog record, click: ACCESS ONLINE VERSION - (SAGE). (Off campus: requires proxy.)

Scope: Worldwide. Includes legal working papers, forthcoming/recently published legal articles, and even some forthcoming book chapters. Search default = search of title, abstract and keywords.
Tip: BLS student researchers will greatly benefit from searching the current material in this repository.

Includes legal working papers and unpublished/recently published legal articles.
Use "Advanced Search" to find articles by subject, keywords in abstract, author or title.

Open access repository of published articles.  BrooklynWorks (Brooklyn Law School's scholarly repository) is part of this network.
TIP: From the main page of Law Commons (on left), view articles grouped by sub-disciplines, such as: Criminal Law; Criminal Procedure; Judges; Law and Race; Law and Society; Law Enforcement and Corrections; and Social Welfare Law.

​Contains published legal articles from 3,000+ law and law-related periodicals (PDF).  (Off campus: requires proxy.)

Click link above and enter Westlaw user name and password.

Click link above and enter Westlaw user name and password.

Click link above and enter Lexis+ user name and password.

Click link above and enter Lexis+ user name and password.

Bullet: "Articles"
Tip: If a BLS researcher does not plan to work on campus or in a BLS residence: Before searching, implement the proxy server instructions.  Then, the BLS researcher will be able to access more full-text articles in Google Scholar search results.
Tip: Need help finding the full text of articles retrieved through a Google Scholar search? Email: askthelibrary@brooklaw.edu

"[F]ree full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.

Beneath a topic like: "Prison Industrial Complex: Adverse Implications for Public Health" or "Intro to Prison Industrial Complex Abolition," click "Learn More" to view lists of/links to selected resources and names of people/organizations to follow.

In catalog record, click: ACCESS ONLINE VERSION - (APA). Updated weekly, PsycNET provides abstracts and citations to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral and health sciences. Note: Often, BLS researchers will need to use the "ILL" tab in SARA catalog to request desired articles found in PsycNET.