Native American Law

Archives Unbound (provider: Gale) collections available through BLS Library:

• The American Fur Company: America's First Business Monopoly
  • Gale's summary of this searchable collection: "The papers include original letters received from factors, foreign and domestic agents, mainly to Ramsey Crooks, president of the Company; copies of letters sent by the Company; records of furs received from the [Native Peoples], and orders for goods to be shipped to the factors in exchange for furs."  (Date range: 1831-1849, source institution: New York Historical Society) 
• The American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism
  • Excerpt from Gale's summary of this searchable collection: "The American Indian Movement (AIM) was founded at a time of continuing social change and protest following achievement of national legislation of the Civil Rights Movement. The radical approach AIM adopted was based on its leaders' perceptions that early [Native Peoples'] advocacy had failed to achieve any tangible results by lobbying activities with Congress and state legislatures." (Date range: 1968-1979, source institution: Federal Bureau of Investigation Library)
• The Indian Trade in the Southeastern Spanish Borderlands: Papers of Panton, Leslie and Company
  • Gale's summary of this searchable collection: "Comprising the papers of the Panton, Leslie & Co., a trading firm, this collection is the most complete ethnographic collection available for the study of the American [Native Peoples] of the Southeast. More than 8,000 legal, political and diplomatic documents recording the company's operations for over half a century have been selected and organized for this collection."  (Date range: 1763-1901, source institution: University of West Florida)

Note: Gale provides additional content (to which BLS does not currently subscribe) in its collections: American Studies; Business and Economic History; Gender, Sexuality and Women's Studies; and Native American Studies.

History Vault (provider: ProQuest)

• History Vault's home page provides a main screen search feature and access to archival material by "Subject Areas," including:
  • American Politics and Society (including Progressive Era and New Deal)
  • Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle
  • [Native Peoples] and the American West (1809-1971)
  • Southern Life, [Enslavement], and the Civil War
  • Women at Work During World War II
• These are digital versions of original documents.  Older documents (such as letters, journals and petitions) may be in cursive text and might exhibit some deterioration.

Labor & Employment: The American Worker (provider: HeinOnline).   In BLS Library's SARA catalog record for this collection, click: ACCESS ONLINE VERSION - (HEIN).  (Remote access requires implementation of the BLS proxy server instructions for 1 web browser and librarians recommend the instructions for Firefox browser.)   

• Provides 10,000+ subject-coded titles "that illuminate the history of labor conditions and employment law in the United States."
  • Editors assigned each title one (or more) subjects:  Captive Labor; Employment Benefits; Equal Employment; Immigrant Workers & Agriculture; Labor Disputes & Strikes; Labor Laws & Legislation; Labor Market; Labor Unions; Mediation & Labor Relations; Minimum Wage; Occupational Illness & Dangers; Overtime Pay; Pensions & Retirement; Public Sector Employees; Trade & Economy; Unemployment Compensation; Wages; and Workplace Protections.
• Includes a chart of 24 landmark labor and employment cases (date range: 1842-2018) with links to the case texts.
• Includes a curated collection of scholarly articles on "employment discrimination, wrongful termination, collective bargaining, how the New Deal shaped labor law, right-to-work laws, labor disputes in major league sports" and additional topics.
• Includes "thousands" of books from the early 1900s-present. 
• Provides legislative histories of labor-related laws.  Examples:
  • Fair Labor Standards Act 1938
  • Legislative History of the Equal Employment Opportunity Act of 1972, P.L. 92-261
  • Railway Labor Act of 1926: A Legislative History