Guides: Disability Rights: Scholarly Legal Articles

Finding Articles: Tips

BLS researchers can request unavailable articles through BLS Library's interlibrary loan form/service.
- Before making an interlibrary loan request, BLS researchers can access Find a Source and can enter a journal's title to view available journal holdings.
- Need help placing your first interlibrary loan request? Email: askthelibrary@brooklaw.edu

CILP Alerts About Newly Published Articles

HeinOnline: Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP) Alerts

CILP indexes material in 650+ [primarily U.S.] legal publications by subject headings. A useful CILP subject heading is:

BLS students, faculty and administrators: To receive CILP email alerts about recently published articles on specific topics, click: Create New SmartCILP User.

Finding Published Legal Articles Through Indexes

LegalTrac

Indexes law reviews, bar journals, and legal newspapers, including full-text coverage of selected titles. Gale's summary states: "Covers [U.S.] federal and state cases, laws and government regulations, legal practice, taxation, and international law. Includes British Commonwealth and European Union cases and law. Updated daily."
LegalTrac's Topic Finder - Enter a term like: disabilities law or disability rights. LegalTrac states: "Clicking on a topic wheel or tile narrows your original search results to the documents also containing that subject or term."
LegalTrac's Subject Guide Search - Type a term like: disability rights to obtain a menu of available subjects. Click a subject to view citations to articles.

Disability Studies Journals

Disability Studies Quarterly (Open Access)
Disability Studies Quarterly (DSQ) is the journal of the Society for Disability Studies (SDS). It is a multidisciplinary and international journal of interest to social scientists, scholars in the humanities and arts, disability rights advocates, and others concerned with the issues of people with disabilities.
Journal of Developmental and Physical Disabilities
Journal of Developmental and Physical Disabilities is an interdisciplinary forum for the publication of original research and clinical reports from a variety of fields serving persons with developmental and physical disabilities.

How Do I Find Legal Articles?

Repositories that include pre-prints:

bepress Legal Repository

Includes legal working papers and unpublished/recently published legal articles.

Use Advanced Search to find articles by subject, keywords in abstract, author and title.

Law Commons is an open access repository of scholarly articles and other research. BrooklynWorks (Brooklyn Law School's scholarly repository) is part of this network.

SSRN (might require registration to access an article--registration is free)

Includes legal working papers, unpublished/recently published legal articles, and even pre-prints of some book chapters.

Sources of published articles:

HeinOnline's Law Journal Library provides PDFs.

HeinOnline provides published legal articles (articles published in journals and in yearbooks).

Westlaw's Law Reviews & Journals

(Click link above and enter Westlaw user name and password.)

Lexis+'s Law Reviews & Journals

(Click link above and enter Lexis user name and password.)

Google Scholar