Skip to Main Content

Paper Topic Development: International: Scholarly Legal Articles

Tools to identify articles, books, treaties, UN documents, jurisprudence and other sources to support an international law paper.

How Do I Create CILP Alerts re. Newly Published Legal Articles?

HeinOnline: Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP) Alerts

CILP indexes material in 650+ [primarily U.S.] legal publications by subject headings.  CILP subject headings include: Comparative and Foreign Law; Conflict of Laws; International Law; International Trade; and Taxation - Transnational.

BLS students, faculty and administrators: To receive CILP email alerts about recently published articles on specific topics, click: Create New SmartCILP User.  To access CILP from off-campus locations: implement the BLS proxy server instructions for one web browser.  

BrooklynWorks Readership Map

How Do I Find Legal Articles & Hague Academy IL Courses?

Repositories that include pre-prints:

bepress Legal Repository 

Includes legal working papers and unpublished/recently published legal articles. 

Use Advanced Search to find articles by subject, keywords in abstract, author and title.   

Law Commons is an open access repository of scholarly articles and other research.  BrooklynWorks (Brooklyn Law School's scholarly repository) is part of this network. TIP: From the main page of Law Commons, view articles grouped by sub-discipline, such as:

SSRN (might require registration to access an article--registration is free)

Includes legal working papers, unpublished/recently published legal articles, and even pre-prints of some book chapters.  

Subscription source of "advance articles" + published articles:

Oxford University Press Legal Journals & Yearbooks (subscription) available through platform: Oxford Academic.

  • Links to digital versions of many legal journals and three legal yearbooks published by Oxford University Press (OUP).
  • Most of these OUP sources also provide "Advance articles."  (BLS researchers might need to click: More Content > Advance Articles.)
  • Includes option to view articles in PDF.

More sources of published articles:

​HeinOnline's Law Journal Library and Foreign and International Law Resources Database provide PDFs.

HeInOnline provides published legal articles (articles published in journals and in yearbooks).

HeinOnline includes material from Hague Academy Collected Courses on international law.

(Access subscription HeinOnline databases on campus, in BLS housing, and elsewhere off campus if one has implemented the BLS proxy server instructions.)

Westlaw's Law Reviews & Journals and United Kingdom Journals

(Click links above and enter Westlaw user name and password.)

Lexis+ tab: International

Includes: Canada > All Canada Law Reviews and Journals and United Kingdom > All United Kingdom Law Reviews and Journals

(Click links above and enter Lexis+ user name and password.)

Google Scholar, bullet: Articles

If a BLS researcher does not plan to work on campus or in BLS housing: Before searching, implement the BLS proxy server instructions.  Then, the BLS researcher will be able to access more full-text articles in Google Scholar search results.

Directory of Open Access Journals

World Legal Information Institute: Categories: Law Journals

This free "legal research facility" includes link Law Journals: "By Country."