Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

1L Resources, Tips and Tools: What Can I Do At The Circulation Desk?

This guide describes print and digital resources to help 1Ls succeed at Brooklyn Law School.

HERE ARE SOME OF THE THINGS YOU CAN DO AT THE LIBRARY CIRCULATION DESK

The Circulation Desk is located on the ground floor of the library.  Turn left when you enter the library.

Reserve Materials

The library has a collection of regular and course reserve material, including one copy of all required casebooks, shelved behind the circulation desk.  These materials may be borrowed for two hours in-library use and may be renewed if not requested by another user.  All reserve material are listed in the SARA catalog.

At the circulation desk you will also be able to check out a study aid for up to two hours to help you in your 1L classes.  The library has study aids for Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Criminal Law, Legal Research, Property, Torts, and more.  See here to learn more.

Audio and video cassettes DVDs that are not on course reserve may be borrowed for 48 hours.  These materials are also listed in SARA and are shelved in room 111, the Tech CoLab.  For access to this room, please ask at the circulation desk.

In addition to the DVDs in room 111, the Robert M. Pitler DVD Collection is shelved in room 104M.  This collection of popular, non-legal DVDs was given to the library by the late Professor Pitler.  These DVDs may be charged out for one week.

Borrowing Books

books

BLS Students and Staff may borrow circulating non-reserve materials for an entire semester, unless recalled by another patron. The following materials do not circulate to students:

  • Loose-leaf services 
  • Periodicals, bound or unbound
  • Federal, regional and state primary sources (case reporters, statutes, administrative material, etc.)
  • Finding tools (indexes, digests, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc.)
  • Form books
  • Reference material

Certain heavily-used items, including current course materials and unbound periodicals, are kept on reserve behind the circulation desk. These materials may be borrowed for two hours, but must be used in the library.

Circulating materials not requested by another borrower may be renewed online through library catalog, by telephone, or in person at the Circulation Desk.  To renew online, go to SARA and log in to your library account by entering your BLS username and password.

Anyone with borrowing privileges may also request that materials currently on loan be recalled.  The patron in possession of the recalled item will receive an email alerting that the title has been recalled and that the title needs to be returned in two weeks.  As soon as the title is returned, the requesting patron will be notified of its availability. 

Audio and video cassettes or DVD's that are not on course reserve may be borrowed for 48 hours.

For information about the library's policies on visitors and pass-holders, please see our Access Policy.

Find Books, Journals, DVDS, Databases and more

To borrow items from the library, check the library catalog to first find what you need. The library catalog is called SARA and can be searched by keyword, author, title, chapter, book or journal title, author/book title combination, or subject. The detailed record for each item allows you to:

  • Confirm that the item is available

  • Learn when the title is due back if it has already been checked out by someone else

  • Identify the exact call number and location of the item

From the catalog’s main menu you can link to an alphabetical listing of databases, access course reserves and download the proxy instructions which allow you to access our electronic titles off campus.

If you have questions about using SARA, please consult a reference librarian.  See here to find out how you can contact us.

Borrowing Laptops and Other Equipment

For your convenience, the Circulation Desk at BLS library lends:

  • Netbooks
  • Laptops
  • USB Drives
  • Headphones
  • Locks for your computer
  • Dry Erase Markers
  • Board Games

The above materials can be borrowed for four hours at a time.

Interlibrary Loan

What if the library does not own the item you need?

You can make an interlibrary loan request to borrow the item from another library.  These requests can be made online. Please remember that books and other items can take up to two weeks to receive.  If you have further questions about interlibrary loan procedures, please contact our interlibrary loan department at ill@brooklaw.edu.

To see what other libraries have in their collections, search WorldCat, a database of thousands of library catalogs from around the world.  You can search WorldCat in much the same way you would search SARA.