Researching Your Paper: Journal Articles and News: Legal News Sites, Newspapers, Databases and Blawgs

Law 360

• Subscription based legal news site available to BLS community on-campus or through proxy server
• Offers in-depth expert analyses of legal controversies and developments
• Tip: Click on "Sections" on upper right hand side to browse different areas of law
• Tip: Use the "Advanced Search" function on the upper right corner to search for specific topic areas
• Tip: Set up "alerts" to receive updates on a particular topic or area of law

ABA Journal

• Legal news, updated throughout the business day
• May sort news by legal topic
• Access more than 2,000 legal blogs (or blawgs)
• Subscribe to free daily and weekly email newsletters, set up an RSS feed, Twitter account

Law.com

• Subscription based legal news site, available to BLS students on-campus or through proxy server.

New York Law Journal

• A regional news source from Law.com
• Subscription-based; available to BLS students on-campus or through proxy server
• Read today's court opinions, search opinions, or download the Decision of Interest from the past 30 days. Opinions are from all the New York Courts of Appeal, the New York Appellate Divison, the 2nd U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals and the U.S. Supreme Court.

Bloomberg Law is an excellent resource for researching news and analysis of current legal topics.  Click on "News and Analysis" on the menu on the left hand side of the homepage. Bloomberg Law News includes what were formerly known as the BNA newsletters, a popular resource for keeping current on different topic areas.   

Tip:  US Law Week provides coverage of current legal issues, which you can filter by topic.  You can also subscribe to US Law Week to receive daily highlights.   

• National Law Journal 

  
  BLS students have access to the publisher's website on-campus or through the proxy server.  The most recent 3 months of the National Law Journal are also available in print in the library. Older issues are available on microform. 
• New York Law Journal 

  BLS students have access to the publisher's website on-campus or through the proxy server. The New York Law Journal is also available in print in the library. Older issues are available on microform. 

   

Legal Blogs (or "blawgs") can be a great resource for keeping up to date with legal issues and exploring topic areas.  Many law firms, legal scholars and practitioners have their own blogs focusing on their particular area of expertise.  The sites below organize by topic area the web's top legal blogs.  

• LexBlog
• ABA Journal's Blawg Directory
• Justia's BlawgSearch

Below you will find a selection of legal blogs. ​

• SCOTUS Blog

SCOTUS blog is an impartial blog that provides comprehensive coverage of all cases heard on the merits at the Supreme Court and all significant petitions for certiorari.  An excellent resource for keeping up-to-date with the Supreme Court. 

• JURIST
  
  JURIST is run by over 60 volunteer law student reporters, editors, and web developers who report and research the latest legal developments in real time for members of the legal community and the public at large. 
• Election Law Blog
  
  Richard L. Hasen, a Professor of Law and Political Science at the University of California, Irvine, is the founder of Election Law Blog. Professor Hasen is a nationally recognized expert in election law and campaign finance regulation and this blog focuses on election law, campaign finance, legislation, voting rights, redistricting and the Supreme Court. 
• Gavel to Gavel
  
  Gavel to Gavel covers legislation in all 50 states affecting the courts.  It is the newsletter of the National Center for State Courts. 

  Since 2006, the National Center for State Courts’ Gavel to Gavel has helped identify trends in legislative activity as it relates to the courts in seven broad areas:

  • Judicial selection (e.g. merit selection, partisan elections)
  • Judicial qualifications and terms (e.g. mandatory retirement age)
  • Judicial rule making authority
  • Structural court changes (e.g. merger of courts, division of existing courts)
  • Jurisdiction (e.g. court stripping or court expanding)
  • Salary and budget
  • Other areas that affect the courts