Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English Legal Sources Available through BLS Library: Articles

Tools To Find Legal Articles

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) and bepress Legal Repository might yield "as yet unpublished" legal articles and book chapters. 
OneSearch discovery platform yields published articles in many of BLS Library's subscription databases (HeinOnline, Academic/Business Source Premier, JSTOR, selected news sources, etc.).  But OneSearch does not index articles in Westlaw, Lexis+ and Bloomberg Law.

For the Westlaw links below, click desired link and enter Westlaw user name and password. 

Westlaw: Legal Journals Index

Indexes articles published in 430+ UK legal periodicals.

Scope: 1986-

Often, there are no links to articles in your Legal Journals Index search results.  Tip: Try entering the title of the periodical in Westlaw's search box, in Lexis+'s search box, in SARA catalog's Find a Source tool and in SARA catalog (b/c BLS Library might own the periodical in print form).  No luck?  BLS researchers can request articles through tab: ILL in SARA catalog

Westlaw: Legal and Regulatory Developments Index 

Indexes UK government departments’ press releases, UK Command Papers and UK parliamentary publications.

Scope: 1994-

 Westlaw: Legal Resource Index

Focus: Primarily indexes articles published in U.S. legal periodicals.  Also indexes articles published in selected UK legal periodicals.

Scope: 1980-

 

 

Databases of Legal Articles

Westlaw: United Kingdom Journals

Includes journals published by: Oxford University Press; and Sweet and Maxwell publications.

Scope: Varies by publication.

Lexis+: All United Kingdom Law Reviews and Journals

Includes journals published by: LexisNexis (UK); Cambridge University Press; The Law Society; and Oxford University Press.

Scope: Varies by publication.