Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EU Legal Research: Starting Points: Indexes of Articles

Recommendation for BLS researchers who are using this guide off-campus: first, implement the proxy instructions [at https://www.brooklaw.edu/intellectuallife/library.aspx] for access to BLS subscription databases.

Indexes of Articles

Students, please search more than one vendor's database of full-text legal articles (e.g., Westlaw: Law Reviews & Journals).

To find recent articles, search:

Digital Commons Network > Law > European Law Commons 

Social Science Research Network (free, registration might be required to access material)  

Includes legal, business, economic and accounting papers/articles (even some book chapters) submitted by scholars in many countries.

bePress Legal Repository

To find published legal articles on a topic, use BLS Library's discovery platform OneSearch + indexes of articles

Indexes: 

Westlaw: Legal Journals Index (1986-)

Focus: Legal articles published in the U.K. and English-language legal articles published in Europe.  Search results (cites and abstracts) in Legal Journals Index generally do not link to full-text articles.  In SARA catalog, use tools OneSearch (search by title of article) and Find A Source (search by title of periodical) to try to retrieve the article. 

Westlaw: Legal Resource Index (1980-)

Focus: Legal articles published in the U.S. + some articles published in Australia, Canada, the U.K., and New Zealand.

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals

Focus: Worldwide.  Can limit searches by country subjects, including: European Union & European Union Countries.  

LegalPeriodicals.org (1997-)

Focus: Ireland.