Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Westlaw has numerous databases devoted to Copyright Law. To see the full list, select Intellectual Property from the Topics tab on the main search screen. From there, you will be able to access targeted case law databases, secondary sources, trial court documents, and agency materials.
Materials sent to the U.S. Copyright Office for registration and recordation. Coverage begins with January 1978.
Federal Intellectual Property Cases
Cases from the U.S. Supreme Court, Courts of Appeals, District Courts, Bankruptcy Courts, Court of Federal Claims,Tax Court, Military Courts, and territorial courts that relate to intangible property rights such as copyright, trademark, patent, and trade-secret. Coverage begins in 1789.
Federal Intellectual Property Briefs
Selected briefs filed with the U.S. Supreme Court and Courts of Appeals that relate to intangible property rights such as copyright, trademark, patent, and trade-secret. Coverage begins in 1990, with selected briefs back to 1872.
Legislative History: General Revision of Copyright Law, 1976
Comprehensive legislative history of the Act for the General Revision of the Copyright Law (Title 17 of the United States Code), Pub. L. No. 94-553 (1976), compiled by Arnold & Porter, including the text of bills, committee reports, transcripts of hearings, and other documents.
Copyright Litigation Handbook
This publication provides step by step guidance through the copyright litigation process, starting at the moment a prospective client calls and going through the calculation of costs and attorney's fees. It contains sample forms, pleadings, motions, checklists, and practice tips.
Law of Copyright
Treatise analyzing the history and debates of copyright law.
Lexis Advance has a wide variety of materials related to Copyright Law. To view the list of sources, select the Practice Area tab from the main menu. Then select the Copyright Law Practice Area to see various subcategories of information. The subcategories include: targeted case law databases, secondary sources, statutes, and administrative materials.
Copyright: Mealey's Litigation Report
Thorough reporting of copyright law via concise case summaries and full-text court documents including coverage of court decisions, new suits, settlements and trials, supported by documents including complaints, orders, motions,briefs, verdicts, opinions and key unpublished decisions - many unavailable from traditional copyright sources or online services.
Copyright and the Public Domain
In plain language, this book explains how and why works of authorship enter the public domain. It provides detailed coverage of copyright requirements, the duration of copyright, copyright forfeiture and abandonment, the publication requirement; non-protectable elements within a copyrighted work, restoration of copyrights to foreign works under GATT, conducting copyright renewal searches, non-copyright restrictions that may protect works in the public domain, and many other important issues.
Nimmer on Copyright
This definitive work on copyright law is a rich resource for the expert, as well as the practitioner just beginning to explore the area.
Other Online Databases
The databases below are either free, accessible via BLS proxy server, or with a password you can obtain from a librarian. A full list of Intellectual Property E-Resources can be found on the library's "Online Databases By Subject" research guide.
Intellectual Property Library
Resource center for BNA Intellectual Property Law resources. Includes the Patent, Trademark, and Copyright Journal, the World Intellectual Property Report, and USPQ cases. Also links to tabs of news and insights on patent law, trademark and unfair trade practice law, copyright law, and judicial practice and procedure.
Patent, Trademark, and Copyright Daily
Concise daily news of significant intellectual property cases, regulatory developments, and trends. Includes reports on recent court decisions, policy statements issued by the American Intellectual Property Association, U.S. Trademark Association, and other trade and professional organizations, and new rules promulgated by the Copyright Office, Patent and Trademark Office, International Trade Commission, and other agencies. Coverage from July 1998 to present.
World Intellectual Property Report
Monthly news and analysis of developments in the regulation and enforcement of intellectual property rights worldwide. Includes activities of the World Intellectual Property Organization, World Trade Organization, and other international bodies, as well as treaties, proposals, enforcement actions, and court cases. Coverage from January 1997 to present. You will need to implement the proxy instructions for off-campus access.
Intellectual Property Digital Library
Free resource that provides access to WIPO's collection of searchable IP data. Includes law and treaties, patent and trademark classifications, WIPO standards, and more. The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is a specialized agency of the United Nations dedicated to developing a balanced and accessible international IP system.