The U.S. Census Bureau is an agency of the U.S. Department of Commerce and operates under Title 13 and Title 26 of the United States Code. This Bureau's goal is to be "the leading source of quality data" about the U.S. economy, institutions and society. [Source: U.S. Census Bureau, About the Bureau + Our Mission]
The U.S. Census counts every resident in the United States. It is mandated by Article I, Section 2 of the Constitution and takes place every 10 years.
The data collected by the decennial census determine the number of seats each state has in the U.S. House of Representatives and is also used to distribute billions in federal funds to local communities.
American Community Survey - An ongoing survey that provides data every year giving communities the current information they need to plan investments and services.
American Factfinder - An interactive application that supports the Economic Census, the American Community Survey, the 1990 Census, Census 2000 and the latest Population Estimates. Check out Using American FactFinder.
American Housing Survey - Collects data on the Nation's housing, including apartments, single-family homes, mobile homes, vacant housing units, household characteristics, income, housing and neighborhood quality, housing costs, equipment and fuels, size of housing unit, and recent movers.
Census of Governments - Identifies the scope and nature of the nation's state and local government sector; provides authoritative benchmark figures of public finance and public employment; classifies local government organizations, powers, and activities; and measures federal, state, and local fiscal relationships.- Conducted every 5 years. 2012 is the most recent.
Economic Census - Provides a detailed portrait of the United States' economy once every five years, from the national to the local level. Last one was completed in 2012.
Economic Indicators (The U.S. Census Bureau Index of Economic Activity (IDEA) - An aggregation of 15 of the Census Bureau’s primary economic data series that provides a single time series constructed as a weighted average. They are released on specific schedules, according to the Economic Indicator Calendar.
Population and Housing Census - Conducted every 10 years. Last one was the 2010 U.S. Census.
State and County Quick Facts -Provides frequently requested Census Bureau information at the national, state, county, and city level.
Bureau of Economic Analysis - Produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the Nation's economy.
Bureau of Justice Statistics - Collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems. It is the primary source of criminal justice statistics.
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Measures labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy, including Consumer Price Indexes(CPI).
Censtats - Provides access to statistical resources offered by the U.S. Census Bureau.
Data.Gov - Allows the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government.
FedStats - Provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic.
Statistical Abstract of the United States- Published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Unfortunately, due to budgetary constraints, the 2012 edition is the final edition to this valuable resource.
TaxStats - Provides access to a wide range of tables, articles, and data that describe and measure elements of the U.S. tax system.