LibGuides: International Commercial Arbitration & International Commercial Law Research: Treatises: Int'l. Arbitration

BLS Library's Subscriptions to Jus Mundi: ICC Dispute Resolution Library > Books, Kluwer Arbitration > Books & Publications + Westlaw International Arbitration Treatises

Jus Mundi: ICC Dispute Resolution Library includes ICC's Books + Enforcement Guide.
Kluwer Arbitration > tab: Books & Publications > subtab: Books includes many treatises on international arbitration. It also provides material from Wolters Kluwer's Yearbook: Commercial Arbitration (containing selected cases and arbitral awards) + ICCA International Handbook on Commercial Arbitration (containing reports about arbitration developments in specific countries and texts of countries’ arbitration laws).
- Tip: Under subtab: Books, use: search by title name box to find treatises.
Westlaw: International Arbitration Treatises - Tip: Click "i" to check a treatise's publication date.

Quick Links

How To Find Treatises on International Commercial Arbitration

Recommended Library of Congress subject searches:

Arbitration and award, International

Arbitration, International

Recommended keyword search:

international commercial arbitration

To expand a keyword search beyond the holdings of BLS Library:

Run a keyword search in BLS Library's catalog. Then, click the tab (near top of screen) to: WorldCat.

Sources on International Arbitration

Access to Justice in Arbitration: Concept, Context and Practice (2020) by Leonardo de Oliveira & Sara Hourani, eds.
Searchable, digital version is available in subscription Kluwer Arbitration database.
Arbitrability: Fundamentals and Major Approaches by Fabien Gélinas & Leyla Bahmany
Publication Date: 2023
Searchable, digital version is available in subscription Kluwer Arbitration database.
Comparative International Commercial Arbitration (2003) by Julian D.M. Lew, Loukas A. Mistelis & Stefan M. Kröll
Call Number: K2400 .L48 2003 (Int'l.)
1 print copy in Int'l. + serachable, digital version is available in subscription Kluwer Arbitration database. Dr. Strong describes this source as an excellent treatise.
Complex Arbitrations: Multi-party, Multi-contract, Multi-issue – A Comparative Study (2020) by Bernard Hanotiau
Searchable, digital version is available in subscription Kluwer Arbitration database.
Conflict of Laws in International Commercial Arbitration (2019) by Franco Ferrari & Stefan Kröll, eds.
Deference in International Commercial Arbitration: The Shared System of Control in International Commercial Arbitration (2023) by Franco Ferrari & Friedrich Rosenfeld, eds.
Searchable, digital version is available in subscription Kluwer Arbitration database.
Due Process As a Limit to Discretion in International Commercial Arbitration (2020) by Franco Ferrari et al. eds.
Searchable, digital version is available in subscription Kluwer Arbitration database.
Evaluation of Damages in International Arbitration (2006) by Yves Derains & Richard H. Kreindler, eds.
Searchable, digital version is available in subscription Kluwer Arbitration database.
Expedited International Arbitration: Policies, Rules and Procedures (2024) by Alan Anderson & Herman Verbist, eds.
Searchable, digital version is available in subscription Kluwer Arbitration database.
Fouchard, Gaillard, Goldman on International Commercial Arbitration (1999) by Emmanual Gaillard & John Savage, eds.
Call Number: K2400 .F682 1999 (Int'l. Vis Moot)
1 print copy in Int'l. Vis Moot + also available in subscription Kluwer Aribtration database. Dr. Strong describes this source as an excellent treatise.
Good Faith in International Arbitration – Myth, Reality, Label … or All of the Above? (2024) by Elliott Geisinger, Christoph Müller, Andrea Menaker, Sabrina Pearson-Wenger, eds.
Searchable, digital version is available in subscription Kluwer Arbitration database.
Good Faith in International Commercial Arbitration: Its Application by Arbitral Tribunals to the Parties’ Contract and the Arbitration Agreement (2024) by Sabrina Pearson-Wenger
Searchable, digital version is available in subscription Kluwer Arbitration database.
Handbook of Evidence in International Commercial Arbitration: Key Concepts and Issues (2022) by Franco Ferrari & Friedrich Rosenfeld, eds.
Searchable, digital version is available in subscription Kluwer Arbitration database.
International Arbitration: Law and Practice (3d ed. 2021) by Gary B. Born
Searchable, digital version is available in subscription Kluwer Arbitration database.
International Arbitration and Forum Selection Agreements, Drafting and Enforcing (6th ed. 2021) by Gary B. Born
Searchable, digital version is available in subscription Kluwer Arbitration database. Provides examples of nearly 200 international arbitration and forum selection clauses.
International Commercial Arbitration (3rd ed. 2021) by Gary B. Born
Comprehensive, respected treatise available in subscription Kluwer Arbitration database.
International Commercial Arbitration: A Comparative Introduction (2021) by Franco Ferrari, Friedrich Rosenfeld & John Fellas
Call Number: K2400 .F472 2021 (Int'l. Vis Moot)
This treatise is only available in print in BLS Library.
International Commercial Arbitration and Mediation in UNCITRAL Model Law Jurisdictions (4th ed. 2019) by Peter Binder
Searchable, digital version is available in subscription Kluwer Arbitration database.
International Commercial Arbitration: International Conventions, Country Reports and Comparative Analysis: A Handbook (2nd ed. 2021) by Stephan Balthasar
Call Number: K2400 .I59244 2021 (Int'l.)
The Plurality and Synergies of Legal Traditions in International Arbitration: Looking Beyond the Common and Civil Law Divide (2023) by Nayla Comair-Obeid & Stavros Brekoulakis
Searchable, digital version is available in subscription Kluwer Arbitration database.
Redfern and Hunter on International Arbitration (2023) by Nigel Blackaby, Constantine Partasides & Alan Redfern
Searchable, digital version is available in subscription Kluwer Arbitration database & in subscription Westlaw database.
"Soft Law" in International Commercial Arbitration (2021) by Felix Dasser
In SARA catalog record, click: ACCESS ONLINE VERSION - (EBC). 3 digital copies are available.
Valuation for Arbitration: Compensation Standards, Valuation Methods and Expert Evidence (2008) by Mark Kantor
Call Number: K2400 .K363 2008 (Int'l. Vis Moot)
1 print copy in Int'l. Vis Moot + searchable, digital version is available in subscription Kluwer Arbitration database.

Sources on Procurement

Framework Agreements, Supplier Lists, and Other Public Procurement Tools: Purchasing Uncertain or Indefinite Requirements (2023) by Șerban Filipon
In SARA catalog record, click: ACCESS ONLINE VERSION - (EBC). 1 digital copy is available.
The Law and Economics of Framework Agreements: Designing Flexible Solutions for Public Procurement by Gian Luigi Albano & Caroline Nicholas
Publication Date: 2016
In SARA catalog record, click: ACCESS ONLINE VERSION-EBSCO. Unlimited digital copies are available.

Sources on United Nations Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards (often called: the "New York Convention")

60 Years of the New York Convention: Key Issues and Future Challenges (2019) by Katia Fach Gomez & Ana Mercedes López Rodríguez
Searchable, digital version is available in subscription Kluwer Arbitration database.
The 1958 New York Convention in Action (2016) by Marike R. P. Paulsson, ed.
Searchable, digital version is available in subscription Kluwer Arbitration database.
Autonomous Versus Domestic Concepts under the New York Convention (2021) by Franco Ferrari & Friedrich Rosenfeld, eds.
Searchable, digital version is available in subscription Kluwer Arbitration database.
Guide on the Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards (2017) by UNCITRAL Secretariat, Emmanuel Gaillard, ed. & George A. Bermann, ed.
Call Number: K2400.A41958 U55 2017 (Int'l. Vis Moot)

Tip: A free online platform now provides the Guide above + case law implementing the New York Convention from multiple common law and civil law jurisdictions.

The New York Arbitration Convention of 1958: Towards a Uniform Judicial Interpretation (1981) by Albert J. Van den Berg
Call Number: K2400 .B47 1981 (Int'l. Vis Moot)
This is a classic commentary about applying and enforcing the New York Arbitration Convention.
New York Convention: Article-by-Article Commentary (2nd ed. 2019) by Reinmar Wolff
Searchable, digital version is available in subscription Kluwer Arbitration database.
Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards: A Concise Guide to the New York Convention's Uniform Regime (2023) by Franco Ferrari, Friedrich Rosenfeld & Charles T. Kotuby
In SARA catalog record, click: ACCESS ONLINE VERSION - (EBSCO). 1 digital copy is available.
Excerpt from publisher's description: "Framing the Convention as a uniform law instrument, the book analyses case law from major arbitration jurisdictions to explain its scope of application, the duty to recognize arbitral agreements and awards as well as their limitations, and the procedure and formal requirements for enforcing arbitral awards."
Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards: A Global Commentary on the New York Convention (2010) by Herbert Kronke et al.
Call Number: K2400.A41958 R43 2010 (Int'l.)
1 print copy in Int'l. + searchable, digital version is also available in subscription Kluwer Arbitration database.
Transnational Due Process and Article V(1)(b) of the New York Convention by Dan Xie
Publication Date: 2024
Searchable, digital version is available in subscription Kluwer Arbitration database.