Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In a law library catalog, dictionaries can be found by conducting a subject search for "dictionaries." This can be narrowed to identify law dictionaries, medical dictionaries, etc., by adding these terms to your search (i.e., law dictionaries as your subject search).
Online Legal Dictionaries
Note: this online legal dictionary is a British publication. When searching for the definition of particular term, remember there are slight spelling variations between "British English" and "American English."
Tip: Enter the term “law” in the search box, “Search Titles and Descriptions Only” to retrieve a list of legal dictionaries.
Published by the Legal Information Institute at Cornell University Law School, Wex is a free legal dictionary and legal encyclopedia.
Legal encyclopedias are good starting points for the novice researcher or a researcher unfamiliar with an area of law, because they succinctly discuss and analyze legal doctrine, and cite to controlling statutes and/or leading cases. Legal encyclopedias give a researcher a broad overview of an area of law and familiarize him/her with that area's "terms of art."
American Law Reports 2d, 3d, 4th, 5th, 6th, Fed, Fed 2d
Call Number: KF132.6 .L38 1992
American Law Report Annotations provide a general overview of an area of law nation-wide, summarizing cases in a majority of jurisdictions. The annotations tend to be more detailed than a typical legal encyclopedia entry. American Law Reports can be accessed online via both Westlaw and Lexis.
The database identifier for Westlaw is ALR. To search American Law Reports on Westlaw, click on the link below.
American Law Reports
On Lexis Advance, type the title, American Law Reports, into the main search bar and select the source from the word wheel to search it directly. For direct access to American Law Reports on Lexis Advance, click on the link below. American Law Reports
New York Jurisprudence 2d
Call Number: KFN5065 .N48 1979
New York Jurisprudence 2d is a New York specific legal encyclopedia. It can also be found online on both Westlaw and Lexis.
On Westlaw, the database identifier is NYJUR. To search New York Jurisprudence 2d on Westlaw click on the link below.
New York Jurisprudence
On Lexis Advance, type the title, New York Jurisprudence, into the main search bar, and select the source from the word wheel to search it directly. Or click on the table of contents to browse the source. To access the source directly on Lexis Advance, click on the link below. New York Jurisprudence