LibGuides: Federal Civil Procedure : Local Court Rules & Specialty Court Rules

Guides

Federal Civil Rules Handbook
Call Number: KF8816 .A2 (on Reserve)
Publication Date: Current ed. on Reserve. Estimated ship date for 2024 ed is: Nov. 24, 2023.
Excerpt from publisher's description of this handbook: Provides "the text of each Federal Rule of Civil Procedure alongside our authors' practical explanation as to what the rule means and how it operates in a legal practice."
The current print ed. is on Reserve. A digital version also is available through ProView. Off-campus access to the digital version requires use of the BLS proxy server. In BLS Library's catalog record, click link: ACCESS ONLINE VERSION -- (PROVIEW EBOOK) -- WESTLAW ID AND PASSWORD REQUIRED FROM OFF CAMPUS
Westlaw: Civil Practice in the Southern District of New York by Michael C. Silberberg, Edward M. Spiro & Judith Mogul
Publication Date: Updated annually.
This two-volume set is an excellent resource for practitioners in the federal district court for the Southern District of New York. It is annotated with decisions from the Second Circuit and the Southern District. It includes a discussion of jurisdictional issues, the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, and the Southern District's own rules. Available in Westlaw. Log in required.
Additional ways to access: Civil Practice in the Southern District of New York by Michael C. Silberberg, Edward M. Spiro & Judith Mogul
Call Number: KF8821.N583 S57 (on Reserve)
Publication Date: Updated annually.
The current print ed. is on Reserve. A digital version also is available through ProView. Off-campus access to the ProView digital version requires use of the BLS proxy server. In BLS Library's catalog record, click link: ACCESS ONLINE VERSION -- (PROVIEW EBOOK) -- WESTLAW ID AND PASSWORD REQUIRED FROM OFF CAMPUS

Federal Appellate Court Rules & District Court Rules

The United States Courts website has links to all of the websites of the federal courts of appeal, federal district courts and bankruptcy courts. There are links to the courts' local rules on these websites.

Lexis provides the collection U.S.C.S. Federal Rules Annotated (log in required).

Westlaw provides collections Statutes & Court Rules and Federal Local Court Rules (log in required).

Specialty Court Rules

United States Bankruptcy Courts

The bankruptcy courts follow the Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure.

United States Tax Court

The United States Tax Court does not use the federal rules of civil procedure. It has its own United States Tax Court Rules of Practice and Procedure.

United States Court of Federal Claims

This court also also has its own rules.