Skip to main content

Brooklyn Law School Library in a Nutshell: Bloomberg/Lexis/Westlaw

This guide is a brief introduction to and overview of the Brooklyn Law School Library. Described here are the services, resources, facilities and staff of the Library.

Legal Research Databases

While enrolled at Brooklyn Law School, students have access to the three major legal research databases:  Bloomberg Law, Lexis, and Westlaw. First year students, accelerated J.D. students, and LL.M. students receive registration information about all three databases during their orientation sessions. Information about these databases is below.  If you have questions or need further assistance, please contact Kathleen Darvil, Associate Librarian for Public Services, kathleen.darvil@brooklaw.edu, 718-780-7544 or the Reference Desk, askthelibrary@brooklaw.edu, 718-780-7567.

Bloomberg Law

Bloomberg Law contains cases, statutes, treatises, dockets, and transaction documents, as well as information about companies and people.  Students have access to Bloomberg Law until six months after graduation. Our Bloomberg Law School Relationship Manager holds training and update sessions throughout the academic year. 

There is also a Bloomberg terminal in the cellar in the international collection area which provides real-time financial market data, as well as news and information about companies and people. To access this terminal, please obtain the username and password from the reference desk.

Lexis Advance

Lexis Advance contains federal and state cases, statutes, regulations, as well as law reviews and a wealth of non-legal information. First year students receive their Lexis registration information in their library orientation sessions and then training through their legal writing classes.  Our Lexis Account Executive holds training and review sessions throughout the academic year.  The current Lexis Account Executive for BLS is: Mary Beth Drain, marybeth.drain@lexisnexis.com

 

Westlaw Edge

Westlaw Edge contains federal and state cases, statutes, regulations, as well as law reviews and a wealth of non-legal information. First year students receive their Westlaw registration information in their library orientation sessions and then training through their legal writing classes.  Our Westlaw Account Manager holds training and review sessions throughout the academic year.  The current Westlaw Account Manager for BLS is: Shawn Lopez, shawn.lopez@tr.com