University of California Press provides Luminos, an open access publishing program for monographs. Tip: The Luminos home screen search box (top right) yields available books and book chapters.
Banished Men: How Migrants Endure the Violence of Deportation by 
Practicing Asylum: A Handbook for Expert Witnesses in Latin American Gender- and Sexuality-Based Asylum Cases by Up to 3 BLS students, faculty and administrators can access the BLS subscription to $ AILALink at one time. (In BLS Library's SARA catalog record, click: ACCESS ONLINE VERSION - (AILA). Off-campus access requires implementation of the BLS proxy instructions for 1 web browser (tip: implement the proxy instructions for Firefox).
Also, benefits of AILA law student membership (now FREE!) include online access (in $ AILALink) to many legal books + conference materials published by AILA.
To view books in $ AILALink: Log in to $ AILALink, In Contents (on left side of home screen), click: AILA Books.
To search AILA Books: click button: Search @ top of screen. Filter search by category: AILA Books. (Uncheck other categories.)
To view available conference publications (like Immigration Practice Pointers, 2022–23): Log in to $ AILALink, In Contents (on left side of home screen), click: AILA Conference Publications.
These books + conference publications include:
Asylum Law:
AILA's Asylum Primer: A Practical Guide to U.S. Asylum Law and Procedure (8th ed. 2019)
Immigration Law Sourcebook:
Kurzban's Immigration Law Sourcebook (18th ed. 2022)
Other Immigration Law Publications:
AILA's Immigration Law, Practice & Procedure Manual: A "Cookbook" of Essential Practice Materials (3rd ed. 2023)
Immigration Practice Pointers: 2022-23 (in Contents, listed under: AILA Conference Publications)
Navigating the Fundamentals of Immigration Law: Guidance and Tips for Successful Practice (2022) ((in Contents, listed under: AILA Conference Publications)
Immigration Law, Special Topics:
Immigration Consequences of Criminal Activity: A Guide to Representing Foreign-born Defendants (9th ed. 2021)
Immigration Law and the Family (7th ed. 2023)
Litigating Immigration Cases in Federal Court (6th ed. 2022)
Provisional Waivers: A Practitioner’s Guide (3rd ed. 2020)
Representing Clients in Immigration Court (6th ed. 2021)
The Waivers Book (4th ed. 2022)
Immigration Law Toolboxes:
AILA's FOIA Toolbox (2022)
AILA's Immigration Litigation Toolbox, 7th Ed.: Sample Motions, Briefs, and Memos for Immigration Court, BIA, AAO, DHS, DOL, and Federal Courts (2021)
AILA's Immigration Practice and Professionalism Toolbox: Essential Resources for Managing Your Immigration Practice (2018)
AILA's Toolbox for Immigration Paralegals: Essential Immigration Law Concepts, Procedures, and Form Completion Tips for Paralegals (2020)
AILA’s U.S. Citizenship and Naturalization Law Toolbox (2021)
AILA's USMCA Toolbox (2022)
$ Lexis+ > Practice Center > Immigration > Top Sources: All Secondary Sources includes:
Immigration Law:
Comprehensive treatise, updated "regularly."
$ Westlaw Precision > Practice Area > Immigration > Immigration Resources: Secondary Sources includes:
Asylum Law:
Asylum Case Law Sourcebook (Sept. 2023 update)
Subject-arranged federal court case abstracts re. asylum issues. Abstracts link to texts of decisions.
Law of Asylum in the United States (June 2023 update) by Deborah E. Anker
Immigration Law:
Immigration Procedures Handbook (2022-23 ed.)
Aid to prepare immigration petitions, applications & forms.
Steel on Immigration Law (updated annually, Nov, 2022 update)
Immigration Law, Special Topics:
H-1 B Handbook (2023 ed.)
Immigration Employment Compliance Handbook (Sept. 2022 update)
Immigration Law and Business (Apr. 2023 update)
Immigration Law and Crimes (June 2023 update)
Immigration Law and Defense (Sept. 2023 update)
Immigration Law & the Family (June 2023 update)
Labor Certification Handbook (Nov. 2022 update)
State Immigration Employment Compliance Handbook (Feb. 2023 update)
BLS Library has print copies of selected books to support Safe Harbor participants, including:
Asylum Law:
Adjudicating Refugee and Asylum Law Status: The Role of Witness, Expertise and Testimony (2014)
In the catalog record for this ebook, click: ACCESS ONLINE VERSION (EBSCO) > on left of resulting screen, click: PDF Full Text.
Essentials of Asylum Law (4th ed. 2018) by Immigrant Legal Resource Center staff attorneys
Law of Asylum in the United States (2023) by Deborah E. Anker
Immigration Law:
Immigration Consequences of Criminal Activity: A Guide to Representing Foreign-born Defendants (8th ed. 2019) - Note: newer ed. available in $ AILALink
Immigration Law and Procedure in a Nutshell (8th ed. 2023) (Study aid in BLS Library's 1st fl. Reserve collection)
Kurzban's Immigration Law Sourcebook (17th ed. 2020) - Note: newer ed. available in $ AILALink
Representing Immigrant Defendants in New York (6th ed. 2017)
Includes hypothetical NY case examples & practice tips.
To find more BLS Library print books and ebooks re. asylum law and immigration law:
Link to search BLS Library's SARA catalog
Tip for current BLS students, faculty & administrators to access selected ebooks in SARA catalog from off campus: Implement BLS proxy server instructions for 1 web browser, close/reopen this browser, use this browser to access ebooks in SARA catalog.
Subject search in SARA catalog: Asylum, right of (sorted by Publication.Copyright Date: Newest to Oldest)
Subject search in SARA catalog: Emigration and immigration law--United States (sorted by Publication/Copyright Date: Newest to Oldest)