The UN Documentation Centre provides a starting point for finding documents published by the ECOSOC. Just scroll down and choose the preferred search or browse mechanism under the heading "Economic and Social Council."
A search of the UNDP's website for "microfinance OR microcredit" yields almost 11,000 results! A narrower search for "microfinance AND regulation" still yields over 500 results. A boolean search may be helpful if researchers wish to narrow by a country or other term (ex. "microfinance AND regulation AND Iraq"), but I find the IPC more user friendly for those who do not know exactly what types of documents they are seeking. The link on the lower right hand side, Access to Finance and Basic Services, includes some helpful publications.
Although using "microfinance" as a search term often yields many results, the UNBIS Thesaurus recommends using the term "microcredit". The UNBIS Thesaurus also offers broader and related search terms that may be useful. Using UNBIS Thesaurus terms is most helpful when searching the Dag Hammarskjöld library catalog: UNBISnet.
If you're confused by the UN document symbols, the United Nations Documentation: Research Guide has a section dedicated on how to read them.
The World Bank's Doing Business Law Library can help researchers to identify foreign laws that regulate microfinance. The best way to search is to narrow "Selected Economies" to "Low Income" (and Region, if desired) and to choose the law types that relate to "Getting Credit".
From any of the World Bank's websites, click on the Projects & Operations tab on the top. This will lead researchers to a database in which they can search for World Bank projects involving microfinance. The Advanced Search allows researchers to search using many criteria, including Sector. Using the scroll down menu next to sector, users can choose "Micro- and SME finance". Researchers can also narrow by a Theme, such as "Regulation and Competition Policy".
Additionally, researchers can review World Bank publications on research by choosing the Data & Research tab at the top. The number of documents on microfinance is extensive, so use the Document Search option (in the purple box) and narrow by type of document.
The United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) is the parent organization of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) and of the United Nations Capital Development Fund (UNCDF).
The United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) has recognized the potential role that microfinance can play in helping developing countries to grow and to eradicate poverty. UNDP partners with other UN agencies, NGOs, and foreign governments to achieve the MDGs. The UNDP and the Brazilian government have collaborated to create the International Poverty Center (IPC) which aims at promoting South-South cooperation in researching and working to eliminate poverty. The UNDP worked to have 2005 named the International Year of Microcredit. During this year, UNDP worked to promote microcredit and to raise awareness of microfinance's role in poverty reduction. UNDP maintains a Resource Library on its website.
The United Nations Capital Development Fund (UNCDF) works closely with the UNDP to develop microfinance in the least developed countries (LDCs). The UNCDF's Corporate Policy Papers website (available through a pull-down menu on the main page) provides: publications on the UNCDF's Policy & Mission; Business Plans; Mandate and Legislative Framework; Annual Reports; and other documents.
The UNCDF and the UNDP also operate a Special Unit for Microfinance. This unit publishes a bluebook that addresses issues in microfinance, including a chapter on "Legal Models, Regulation and Supervision in the Context of Inclusive Finance."
The Dag Hammarskjöld library catalog, UNBISnet, provides a variety of different UN official documents.
The World Bank Group, which was formed after the ratification of the Bretton Woods Agreement in 1945, has focused on economic development and the elimination of poverty. It is composed of five agencies: the International Bank of Reconstruction and Development (IBRD); the International Development Association (IDA); International Finance Corporation (IFC); Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency (MIGA); and the International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID).
The IBRD and IDA, which together form the World Bank, provide policy advice and finance to governments concerning microfinance. The IFC provides loans MFIs.
The Consultative Group to Assist the Poor (CGAP) is an independent entity which is housed at the World Bank. It provides microfinance institutions, governments, and advisory services with information to increase availability of microfinancial services. It dedicates a portion of its work to Government and Policy and has several publications available on its website. CGAP maintains the Microfinance Regulation and Supervision Resource Center available at the Microfinance Gateway.
The WTO and OECD monitor "aid for trade" for developing countries, including funds for microfinance initiatives. Statistical information and documents are available on the Doha Development Agenda Database. The search form is easy to use. Researchers can sort results by trade category, donor or beneficiary country, project, amount, and date.
Through its website, the Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD) also provides papers published by various banks and governments relating to microfinance. The advanced search feature provides many options, such as narrowing a search by country, date, or type of document.
Microfinance Gateway offers a searchable directory of NGOs and other organizations.
Here is a selected list that I have compiled: