Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Paper Topic Selection: International: World News

Sources to identify international law developments.

The New York Times: World

The New York Times: Each current BLS student, faculty member or administrator can create an individual account.  Click here for instructions.  Also, subscription Lexis+ provides The New York Times from June 1980-today.  (TIP: To view the most current news articles: click: Actions > Get all documents for this source.)  Subscription Proquest provides a similar database (PDF).  Proquest also provides Historical New York Times with Index (PDF)

Loading ...

Council on Foreign Relations

Council on Foreign Relations (some content is free) 

Foreign Affairs (click: ACCESS ONLINE VERSION--HEIN).  Accessible off-campus if a current BLS student, faculty member or administrator has implemented the proxy server instructions.

 

FT.com

Each current BLS student, faculty member or administrator can create an individual FT.com account.  There is a link to registration instructions in BLS Library's SARA catalog record for the Financial Times.

The Wall Street Journal

BLS patrons: Subscription database Lexis+ provides today's stories from, and an archive of, The Wall Street Journal.  (TIP: To view the most current news articles: click: Actions > Get all documents for this source.)  Lexis Advance also provides stories from WSJ.com in a separate database titled: The Wall Street Journal Online

Alternatively, email askthelibrary@brooklaw.edu for help. 

Many sources: Bloomberg Law

Bloomberg Law subscription database: On home screen, click: News Search.  This yields a search template that allows researchers to limit by news topic and region/country. TIP: Researchers also can limit a news search to Sources > Bloomberg.   

News in specific Practice Centers: From home screen, click: Browse.  The "Browse All Content" menu includesPractice Centers > select a practice center.  Practice centers (like International Trade and Privacy & Data Security) highlight current stories from BNA Law Reports and Bloomberg News.  

 

Many sources: Google News: World

Many sources: Lexis+ category: News

BLS patrons: Subscription database Lexis+ category: News supports many types of news searches (e.g., by country, by region of the world and by databases of combined publications).

Many sources: LexisNexis Uni category: News

LexisNexis UniBLS alumni and other visitors can access LexisNexis Uni on campus. TIP: Click: News and search.