Westlaw Edge UK Tool To Search 3 Legal Dictionaries + More (Subscription)
Westlaw Edge UK: Index of Legal Terms
In search box, enter a legal term like: demurrer.
Westlaw Edge UK will search for the term in Jowitt’s Dictionary of English Law, Stroud's Judicial Dictionary of Words and Phrases and Osborn’s Concise Law Dictionary. Westlaw Edge UK also states: "In addition to the dictionaries, the index includes definitions that form part of Westlaw UK's Case, Legislation and Journal documents."
General Dictionary (Subscription)
Click title below to access BLS Library's catalog record for this source:
Oxford English Dictionary [electronic resource]
In BLS Library's catalog record, click: ACCESS ONLINE VERSION (OXFORD). Accessible on campus and in BLS housing. Accessible to BLS faculty, students and staff off-campus through implementation of the Proxy Server Instructions for Access to BLS Library Databases.
Other Legal Dictionaries
Black's Law Dictionary (11th ed. 2019) by Call Number: KF156 .B53 2019 (1 Ref.)ISBN: 9781539229759Focus: US (w/ many references to English legal sources)
Includes the date when many terms were first used in English-language contexts, such as in judicial decisions. Also provides nearly 3,000 quotations from the last five centuries.
Tip: Also available in Westlaw. Click here to link to Black's Law Dictionary in Westlaw. Click here to link to selected historical eds.
Manual of Law French (2nd ed. 1990) by Call Number: KD313 .B34 1990 (Int'l.)ISBN: 0859677451Assists those conducting Year Books research.