Skip to main content

Global Financial Crisis: Researching Foreign Responses: Databases: Articles

Full-text Databases of Nonlegal Articles

Directory of Open Access Journals

Use Find Journals to determine whether a legal journal is available at a free website.

Alternatively, browse journals by subject.

Use Find Articles to search for an article by title or keywords.


Social Science Research Network

Large collection of articles and papers in PDF regarding law, accounting, economics, finance, and management.

On main screen of SSRN, click: "Search"

TIP: After obtaining a list of search results:

Sort by: Date posted, descending


Proquest Central

Large collection of articles in PDF from journals about business, economics, gender studies, health, literature, management, and political science.  Sometimes, a publisher only allows abstracts from a journal to appear in Proquest Central.

Includes:

New York Daily Times (1851-1857)

New York Times (1857-three years ago)

(Access subscription Proquest Central database on-campus, in BLS housing, and elsewhere off-campus if one has implemented the proxy instructions.)


Academic Search Premier

Large collection of articles in PDF from journals about biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion and theology, and other subjects.

TIP: BLS patrons have praised the Visual Search option in this database, which permits easy sorting of results.  

(Access subscription Academic Search Premier database on-campus, in BLS housing, and elsewhere off-campus if one has implemented the proxy instructions.)


JSTOR

JSTOR is an archived PDF collection of many scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. There is a 1-5 year gap between publication of issues and inclusion in JSTOR (a condition set by journal publishers), so recent articles are not part of this collection.

(Access subscription JSTOR database on-campus, in BLS housing, and elsewhere off-campus if one has implemented the proxy instructions.)


Google's Advanced Scholar Search

If one has the patience to customize a search, this can be a useful tool.

If a BLS researcher does not plan to work on-campus or in BLS housing, before searching, implement the proxy instructions.  Then, the BLS researcher will be able to access more full-text articles in Google search results.

 

Full-text Databases of Legal Articles

To find legal working papers, unpublished legal articles, and recently published legal articles, search:  

Social Science Research Network

Large collection of articles and papers regarding law, accounting, economics, finance, and management.

On main screen of SSRN, click: "Search"

TIP: After obtaining a list of search results:

Sort by: Date posted, descending


To find legal working papers and articles submitted to U.S. law schools' journals through ExpressO, search:

 bePress Legal Repository

Use Advanced Search to find articles by author, title, keywords, and subject. 

 

To find published legal articles, one could search:

Directory of Open Access Journals

Use Find Journals to determine whether a legal journal is available at a free website.

Alternatively, browse by subjects: Law and Political Science.

Use Find Articles to search for an article by title or keywords.


World Legal Information Institute: Categories: Law Journals

This free "legal research facility" includes the ability to search for legal journals by country.


Westlaw's Journals & Law Reviews and United Kingdom Journals and Law Reviews

If a researcher has a cite, the researcher also can use the ”Find & Print”/”Choose Publication Country” feature.

(Click links above and enter Westlaw user name and password.)

Also, Westlaw provides many articles from Journal of International Banking Law and Regulation

Example: Deniz Coskun, SUPERVISION OF CREDIT RATING AGENCIES: THE ROLE OF CREDIT RATING AGENCIES IN FINANCE DECISIONS, 24 J.I.B.L.R. 252 (2009).

 

LexisNexis' U.S. & Canadian Law Reviews, Combined, Australian Law Journals, Combined, and UK Law Journals

If a researcher has a cite, the researcher also can use the “Get a Document” feature.

(Click links above and enter LexisNexis user name and password.)


HeinOnline's Law Journal Library and Foreign and International Law Database

Focus: Articles in journals and year books published a year or more ago.

(Access subscription HeinOnline database on-campus, in BLS housing, and elsewhere off-campus if one has implemented the proxy instructions.)


South African Legal Journals

Access: BLS Library Catalog, "Classic SARA."

Search "Classic SARA" by title of a journal, for example, title: South African Law Journal

If the journal is available through either HeinOnline database or SA ePublications database, you will see a link to “ACCESS ONLINE VERSION.”

(Access subscription HeinOnline database or SA ePublications database on-campus, in BLS housing, and elsewhere off-campus if one has implemented the proxy instructions.)


Google's Advanced Scholar Search

If one has the patience to customize a search, this can be a useful tool.

If a BLS researcher does not plan to work on-campus or in BLS housing, before searching, implement the proxy instructions.  Then, the BLS researcher will be able to access more full-text articles in Google search results.