Administrative Law Research Guide: Federal

Tip: Do not assume that a database is an "official" source.  Does the database state that it is an official source? Can the researcher verify this statement?  Is the material in PDF or similar format?  

• Federal Register 
  
  • Weekday register published by U.S. government.
  • Includes text of proposed & adopted U.S. federal regulations.
  • Includes notices of proposed rulemaking.
    
    • Source: Free GPO Access FDsys website: Federal Register in PDF from 1994-.  Searchable.
    • Source: Fee-based HeinOnline database > Federal Register Library provides Federal Register in PDF from 1936-.  Supports finding a regulation by citation.  
      • BLS researchers can access HeinOnline either on-campus or off-campus through the BLS proxy server (see Proxy Instructions). 
    • Source: Fee-based Lexis.com: Federal Register in html at LexisNexis® Search
    • Source: Fee-based WestlawNext: Federal Register in html

• Code of Federal Regulations 
  • Annually revised code published by U.S. government.
  • Provides text of adopted U.S. federal regulations & categorizes regulations by subject.
  • Does not contain annotations.
  • Source: Free GPO Access website: Code of Federal Regulations in PDF from 1996-.  Searchable.  
    • Tip: Researchers can update a regulation published in the Code of Federal Regulations at free e-CFR. 
    • e-CFR is an unofficial source. 
  • Source: Fee-based HeinOnline database > Code of Federal Regulations Library provides this code in PDF from 1938-. 
    
    • BLS researchers can access HeinOnline either on-campus or off-campus through the BLS proxy server (see Proxy Instructions). 
  • Source: Fee-based LexisNexis: Code of Federal Regulations in html at LexisNexis® Search
  • Source: Fee-based Westlaw: Code of Federal Regulations in html